Sewing

Nikko Top

 

Hi there! Have you seen the newest release from True Bias, the Nikko Top and Dress? This mock turtleneck pattern has options for a long sleeve or sleeveless top or ankle length dress. The top is fitted and the dress is straighter through the waist and hips. I was a tester for the pattern and I wanted to show off the top that I made during testing.

This pattern calls for medium weight fabric with 75% stretch so that the mock turtleneck will pull over the head easily.  The fabric I used is a stretchy, lightweight rayon/spandex knit that I had in my stash. I bought 4 yards of this fabric a while back with the plan to make a maxi dress, but the stripes were on grain on some parts of the fabric and slanted on other parts so I never could figure out how to cut the dress.

I ended up using the fabric for a Santa Fe top last Summer but the seams twisted after I washed it, which made me so sad. I figured it would be a safe bet for a test garment since I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about the mock turtleneck style.

As with all of the True Bias patterns I’ve made, I ended up really liking the style. Kelli has such a knack for getting me out of my comfort zone and into garments that are a little bit trendy but totally wearable in my day to day life. The fit of the top is great, especially for wearing tucked into a high waisted bottom, like the Lander pants or my black Wedgwood skirt. (I made a size 10 graded to a 14 at the hip. This is the tester version of the Nikko pattern– some slight changes were made to the final pattern.)

Since testing this top I’ve started seeing mock turtlenecks all over the place! They are a great layering piece and look really sharp on their own. I’ve struggled a bit with this pattern made in this shibori style fabric, though. I was surprised that this top washed up just fine and I really want to wear it more than I have been. I’ve tried wearing it with a bunch of skirts in my closet but I don’t think anything works quite right with the tie dye-ish fabric. I thought my denim Brumby skirt would be great but I didn’t love them together. I tried it with my tencel Cleo skirt, my corduroy Chi Town Skirt, and my knit Veronika skirt but those didn’t seem like a good combination with this fabric, either. I’m not 100% sold on this combo of the black pleated skirt and shibori Nikko– I’m one of those weirdos who doesn’t like black and navy together. I think a black and white striped Nikko would be way better with this skirt. Time to hurry up and make one!

I have plans to make some white jeans for Spring/Summer and I think this top will look great with white denim. I was also thinking that the sleeveless version of the top would be great layered under my Burnside Bibs. I am excited to make a few more of these soon!

What would you pair with this crazy top, besides jeans?

~Teri

4 thoughts on “Nikko Top

  1. Well, I think this is a fabulous looking outfit on you. You look slim (not that you are not), and stylish; very put together. I really like these together, but I understand. I usually don’t like navy and black together either. I think I really like those bias stripes; they are quite flattering. And I don’t usually see you in fitted tops. They look good on you! I love turtlenecks so I will be looking at this pattern. I agree, this fabric will look really sharp with white denim, or white twill pants for that matter.

    Like

  2. I think it would look wonderful with a nice pair of dungarees like Tilly’s pattern https://shop.tillyandthebuttons.com/products/cleo 🙂 I’ve heard wonderful things about this pattern (not having tried it myself – last time I made one of these was when I started sewing 50 years ago 🙂 ) I love this top! You’re right Kelli is always spot on with her designs which are simple but something you wear ALL the bloody time 🙂

    Like

  3. This is cute! I actually love the black skirt combo with this shirt. I really dislike navy and black together, but I see your top as more of a royal blue than a navy, so I think it totally works! The flare of the skirt balances with the fit of the top nicely. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment