Sewing

Jade Tencel Cleo Skirt

Hello there! It’s been a little while since I’ve been able to get over here to talk about what I’ve been sewing lately! I really sewed up a storm in July in preparation for our first family vacation in almost 6 years. We took a road trip to Tybee Island, Georgia, and spent 5 days at the beach. I sewed this skirt before we left with dreams of getting some photos of me wearing it walking along the beach.

Jade Cleo Skirt 3

Jade Cleo Skirt 1

As you can see, that did not work out! It was super windy by the water and there was no way the photos were going to happen. One evening we drove around the island looking for places to take photos but the lighting was not working for us anywhere we went. We ended up taking these photos right outside of the condo building where we stayed. I’m still sad that my plans didn’t work out but at least these island bushes are a change from my usual brick walls.

Jade Cleo Skirt 4

Jade Cleo Skirt 5

But I digress… back to the skirt. I promise this blog isn’t going to just be a series of Made By Rae Cleo skirts but after I made my blue floral skirt I immediately wanted to make another. This amazing jade tencel fabric from Indiesew seemed like the perfect match for the Cleo skirt pattern. (Unfortunately, this fabric is sold out. I have learned that when Allie lists a tencel fabric in the shop that I should scoop some up immediately. It always sells out so quickly! This linen lurex fabric would make a fantastic skirt, though!)

Jade Cleo Skirt 6

For this version of the Cleo skirt, I combined view A and B. I used the pockets from view A but cut it 4″ longer than the length for view B. I knew I wanted this skirt to hit below mid-calf for maximum tencel swish around my legs. I used a smaller hem allowance to preserve as much length as I could. As I did on my first Cleo, I cut the front pieces at a size M and the back pieces at a size L.

Jade Cleo Skirt 8

Jade Cleo Skirt 7

I am thrilled with this skirt! The tencel is so dreamy and the elastic back waistband of the skirt makes it so easy to wear.  Here, I paired it with a (pretty heavily modified for fit) Seamwork Astoria top. I love how the cropped length of the top looks with this skirt. This is a totally Teri outfit and I know I’ll be wearing it a lot!

Jade Cleo Skirt 9

The Cleo skirt pattern is available at Indiesew and I highly recommend it! I also recommend signing up for the Indiesew newsletter to be among the first to know when new fabric collections hit the shop. (But please save some tencel for me if Allie adds more in the future. Insert winking emoji here.)

Have a great day and thanks for reading!

~Teri

p.s. The fabric for this skirt was provided to me since I am a member of the Indiesew blogger team. All opinions are my own.

 

 

Save

10 thoughts on “Jade Tencel Cleo Skirt

  1. Teri – by any chance do you know how much yardage the midi/tea-length alteration took? This is exactly the silhouette I’ve been looking for in a tencel midi. Thanks!

    Like

    1. Hi Kathryn! I ordered 3 yards of this tencel and I had some leftover. I would suggest 2.5 yards, which is probably generous. I was able to squeeze out my skirt and a pair of Emerson shorts from the 3 yards but I did creative cutting and used every bit of my yardage.

      Like

Leave a Reply

