Sewing

Boatneck Lark Tees

Boatneck Lark 2

Hi Everyone! How have you all been? I took an inadvertent blog break as we have had a lot going on over the last month. My baby turned 1, what?!? My husband had hernia surgery and the rest of us got sick at the same time, which was one of the toughest weeks that I’ve had in quite a while. Once we recovered from that it was time to have a party to celebrate my husband’s 40th birthday.

Boatneck Lark 1

I am thankful that everyone is feeling better (except maybe Caroline, who seems to be working on a mouthful of teeth.)  It is less than a week until my husband can lift over 15 pounds, which means he’ll be able to lift Caroline again. Hooray! And I’ve finally gotten some time to sew! The only things that I have gotten photographed are two boatneck Lark tees. I feel like this blog has become all about t-shirts lately. I promise that the next thing I post about won’t be a t-shirt!

Boatneck Lark 3

The main reason I bought the Lark pattern was because I wanted to make a long sleeved, striped, boatneck tee. After I got my fit perfected on this tee, I cut into my striped fabric (purchased here.) Unfortunately, I cut two front pieces instead of a front and a back. I had two yards of the stripes, so I had enough to re-cut the back. My Lark tee size is a 10 graded to a 14 at the hips, with a 3/4″ forward shoulder adjustment. My only quibble with this tee is that the sleeves feel a little snug at the biceps. Next time I do the long sleeves I will give myself a little more room in the upper arms.

Boatneck Lark back

Since I had an extra shirt front, I thought I would try my hand at freezer paper stenciling. I ordered paints last summer but never got up the nerve to actually try it.  I had even made the stencil (traced from a ready to wear top that I ordered online and turned out to be way too small) so I really had no excuse. I followed this tutorial from Dana Made It.

Bonjour Lark 1

It turns out that freezer paper stenciling is crazy addictive. The paint hadn’t even dried and I was at Target buying plain t-shirts to stencil for my two sons. The hardest part of the process is cutting the stencil and that would probably be a lot easier if I wasn’t using a 15+ year old x-acto knife blade.

Bonjour Lark 2

I ended up having enough of my stripes to make another boatneck Lark, this time with short sleeves. I did a hybrid of the cap and short sleeves on this one. The cap sleeve is a snugger fit than the short sleeves so I transferred the curved hem of the cap sleeve to the short sleeve piece. I also made it about an inch longer than the cap sleeve pattern piece.

Bonjour Lark back

On the long sleeved tee I did the neckline according to the instructions– serged around the neck, turned it under 1/4″ and topstitched. I noticed over the course of wearing it that the back of the neck flips out depending on how I stand. (Slumped, mostly.) For this tee I drafted a 1″ facing that I sewed on and topstitched with my coverstitch machine. I am not usually a person who goes out of my way to use facings but the neckline feels more stable this way.

Bonjour Lark Closeup 1

I really love both of these new tees and I think it’s safe to say the Lark has become a TNT pattern for me. I need to get over my fear of the v-neck and try that next. I also need to take some drawing lessons so I can come up with more freezer paper stencils!

Have a great day!

~Teri

24 thoughts on “Boatneck Lark Tees

  1. These are so good Teri! I got my Lark pattern and two lengths of striped knits out last night, planning to cut a bunch out to sew over the weekend, but I couldn’t get the fabric to lie straight so I put it away in a huff (I was having a bad day). Now I’m all inspired to try again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Kirsten! This striped fabric is pretty stable so it wasn’t too much of a challenge to get it cut, thankfully. I didn’t do a great job of matching the stripes on the sleeves, but oh well! I hope your fabric cooperates so you can make some new Larks.

      Like

  2. Freezer paper stencils are so fun!! Love the tees. I actually really like a facing as you did on this shape of neckline, it works really well.

    Like

  3. I was thinking about making some short sleeved Lark tees and I love your ideas for the sleeves. For those of us who only sew on a regular machine, SewMaris has a great tutorial on how to turn under a knit neckline without stretching the heck out of it. My husband just had hernia surgery, too.

    Like

    1. Hi Chris! I will have to check out that tutorial– I probably did manage to stretch the neck when I just turned and topstitched it. I hope your husband is recovering well!

      Like

  4. I’m tracing my Lark pattern today, but I came over here to check your notes first! I agree with you about the facing for the boatneck – that’s what I’ll likely do. Although I am a big fan of facings 🙂

    I was really into freezer paper stenciling several years ago. I made some pretty intricate stencils, but I didn’t draw them: I got some black and white clip art online, printed it out and cut my stencil from that!

    I love your tees so much. My motivation was the same as yours too: boatneck stripey tee!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Gail! I will definitely have to look at clip art for stencil ideas. If I was left to my own devices I would come up with some pretty sad drawings. I can’t wait to see all of the Lark tees that you make. I was impressed by the list you posted on Instagram!

      Like

  5. I love your stenciling! What a fun idea and great way to spice up some t-shirts. Glad to hear your household is recovering from what sounds like quite an ordeal!

    Like

  6. Hi Teri, I found you via Made by Rae a while ago, and I love the detail you give on all your projects. It’s inspiring to see how you can adapt everything to suit your body shape and I hope I can be as successful when I manage to get a little more sewing time! (two small children and no sewing space mean little gets done round here!) In the meantime I’m adding the lark tee to my ever expanding to-sew list, they look fab!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Helen! Thanks for commenting! I am lucky to have help from my parents and my husband’s parents each week so that is when I get most of my sewing done. I love the process of trying to tailor patterns to my body and I’m glad you like reading the details. Good luck with finding some time to sew!

      Like

    1. Thanks, Inder! I think you’ll really like the Lark tee. I would definitely recommend you shorten it by a few inches when you make your first. It runs pretty long!

      Like

  7. Both of these look fabulous!! I love the Bonjour stencil – that looks so profess! Thanks for sharing how you did it! Hope your hubs is feeling better!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Heather! I am really happy the stencil turned out so well considering it was my first one. I need to get a new knife blade before I attempt another intricate stencil!

      Like

  8. Recently made a lark tee and using the cap/short sleeve mods you described and REALLY like how the sleeves turned out on my lark tee. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

Leave a comment