Sewing

Skirt Fixation Challenge Create: Fabric Swap Edition

FabricI am excited to be participating in Skirt Fixation’s Challenge Create: Fabric Swap Edition.  This week’s fabric swap theme is Geometric fabric.  I received three different geometric fabrics in the mail from Heather from Heather’s Flights.  Two of the fabrics were wovens and the striped fabric was a knit.  I had been envisioning sewing something for myself but quickly came up with an alternate plan to make the most of these fabrics.

Sophia and Doll by Wall

I enlisted the help of some friends who have an adorable daughter, Sophia, who was willing to be my model.  I decided to make her a casual summer outfit and a matching Wee Wonderfuls doll.  For the tee, I used the free basic tee pattern from Dana Made It as my template.  I slashed and spread the pattern to get the swingy shape and drafted a subtle hi-low hem.  I added an applique of a bunny on the chest, which came from an embroidery pattern from Wee Wonderfuls.

For the shorts, I used my current favorite kids pattern, the free Sunny Day Shorts pattern from Oliver + S.  I wanted the shorts to look like bloomers, so I gathered the bottom of the legs and finished them with banded bottoms that tie on the side.  I also added flat piping to the waist and leg bands to pull in the third fabric.

I used all three fabrics, plus a few from my stash to make the doll.  She is from the Wee Wonderfuls book and was so much fun to make.  Her hair is made from grosgrain ribbon and she wears a sweet apron with a kitty head applique that is also from Wee Wonderfuls.

Doll Detail

Sophia and Doll 1

Sophia was very happy with her new outfit and her new doll.  I had a lot of fun designing an outfit for a little girl, which is not something I get to do very often! Thanks Audrey and crew at Skirt Fixation for asking me to be a part of Challenge Create!  I’m so happy I got to participate!

~Teri

7 thoughts on “Skirt Fixation Challenge Create: Fabric Swap Edition

  1. Everything in this post is adorable!! I love the idea of a doll with a matching outfit, and of course I love all your Wee Wonderfuls creations. Glad Sophia enjoyed everything! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

