Sewing

Spring Top Sewalong // Selfish Sewing Week // Chambray Scout Woven Tee and Brigitte Scarf

The Spring Top Sewalong is still going on and this week has been declared Selfish Sewing Week, so I thought it fitting to sew up a Chambray Grainline Studio Scout Woven tee, which I’ve been wanting to make for quite a while.

This is the second Scout Woven Tee that I’ve made.  I have gotten a lot of wear out of my first one and I’m not sure why it took so long for me to make a second.  Scout is a great, casual, basic tee that sews up really quickly.

I made a size 8 graded out to a size 10 at the hips.  I felt like it was a little too big through the top so I took the side seams in a bit on the upper half.  I did french seams throughout and used a scrap of Tana Lawn for the neck binding.  I really love how it looks and half wish I would have turned the binding to the outside so the floral fabric would be exposed.

This fabric is the Nep Chambray from Robert Kaufman’s Chambray Union collection.  There are fun, subtle flecks of color throughout the fabric.

I also whipped up a Brigitte Scarf from the tutorial on Tilly and the Buttons.  I used some leftover Art Gallery voile from a Ruby top I’m making.  It took no more than 15 minutes to make so it would be a great project for someone just learning to sew.

~Teri

2 thoughts on “Spring Top Sewalong // Selfish Sewing Week // Chambray Scout Woven Tee and Brigitte Scarf

Leave a comment