Sewing

Spring Top Sewalong // Selfish Sewing Week // Chambray Scout Woven Tee and Brigitte Scarf

Scout 5

The Spring Top Sewalong is still going on and this week has been declared Selfish Sewing Week, so I thought it fitting to sew up a Chambray Grainline Studio Scout Woven tee, which I’ve been wanting to make for quite a while.  This is the second Scout Woven Tee that I’ve made.  I have gotten a lot of wear out of my first one and I’m not sure why it took so long for me to make a second.  Scout is a great, casual, basic tee that sews up really quickly. 

Scout 2

I made a size 8 graded out to a size 10 at the hips.  I felt like it was a little too big through the top so I took the side seams in a bit on the upper half.  I did french seams throughout and used a scrap of Tana Lawn for the neck binding.  I really love how it looks and half wish I would have turned the binding to the outside so the floral fabric would be exposed.

Scout 4

Scout 3

This fabric is the Nep Chambray from Robert Kaufman’s Chambray Union collection.  There are fun, subtle flecks of color throughout the fabric.

Scout french seam 1

Scout french seam 2

I also whipped up a Brigitte Scarf from the tutorial on Tilly and the Buttons.  I used some leftover Art Gallery voile from a Ruby top I’m making.  It took no more than 15 minutes to make so it would be a great project for someone just learning to sew.

~Teri

2 thoughts on “Spring Top Sewalong // Selfish Sewing Week // Chambray Scout Woven Tee and Brigitte Scarf

Leave a Reply

