Sewing

Tencel Chambray Waterfall Tank

094

I was really excited when I was picked to be a pattern tester for Sew Caroline’s new pattern, the Waterfall Tank.  It’s a great little summer tank with a ruffled double layer on the front.  It is finished with bias tape and can either be done as a fitted strap or tie strap option. 

The tank is a very quick sew and I think it would be great for an advanced beginner.  The only skill that could be a little bit of a challenge for a beginner is the mitered corners that are required on the back of the tank if you choose the fitted strap style.  I have done a lot of mitered corners when binding quilts but this was the first time I’d done it on a garment.  I am really happy with how my corners turned out!

photo(3)

I made a size medium and the only change I made was to grade out the back piece to a large at the hips.  The finished garment is roomy at the hips but I am glad I gave myself a little extra room at the bottom.  I used this tencel chambray from Robert Kaufman for the body of the shirt and a fat quarter of this Art Gallery Fabric for the bias binding.  I want to go back to my local quilt shop to see if they have yardage of this fabric.  It’s a departure from what I usually buy but I really ended up liking it a lot and I think it would make a great Sugar Pop Top.

096

The Waterfall Tank pattern is releasing today!  You can check it out at Sew Caroline’s pattern shop.  Thanks for letting me test your pattern, Caroline!

~Teri

5 thoughts on “Tencel Chambray Waterfall Tank

Leave a Reply

