Sewing

Marlo Sweater with June & Lu

Hi friends! I figured after 4 months it was time to dust off the blog and show you my newest True Bias Marlo Sweater courtesy of June & Lu fabrics. I absolutely love this pattern. I’ve made it 4 times before this one, so I’d definitely consider it to be one of my tried and true patterns.

The fabric I used is called Trail Aragon Brown See You At Six French Terry. It is a warm, cozy, loop-back knit that was the perfect match for the Marlo Sweater. (I am a June & Lu ambassador this year so I was given this fabric in exchange for a post.) My favorite part about sewing with See You At Six French Terry is that they have ribbing that is a perfect color match. For this pattern, I could have definitely used self-fabric for the bands, but I love the contrast of the solid ribbing. I think the matching ribbing really takes it up a notch and makes it look store-bought!

For this Marlo, I cut my usual True Bias size of 10 at the bust and graded out to between 14-16 at the hips. I also did my standard 1/2″ forward shoulder adjustment. I lengthened the sleeves 1/2 an inch and I kind of wish I’d lengthened them another 1/2″ for some extra hand-warming potential. Oh, well!

I got a little creative with the pockets on this Marlo. It tends to be a struggle for me to get my curved pockets shaped neatly so I straightened them out. I also decided to add ribbing to the upper part of the pocket to add some contrast. I cut off the top 1/2 of the pocket piece and added seam allowance to both the lower pocket and the upper part. I cut the ribbing on the fold and sewed the raw edges to the lower pocket. I opted to topstitch the seam to the lower pocket to keep that seam neat and tidy. I also just like topstitching whenever I can!

The buttons just happened to be in my stash from when I made my very first Marlo. I’d ordered some large black and brown buttons to keep on hand because I knew I’d be revisiting this pattern. The buttons I had turned out to be a great match for this rust/brown fabric.

Someone on Instagram asked me how I made such large buttonholes with my machine. She said her buttonhole attachment wouldn’t make them that large. When I tried to fit this large button in my buttonhole attachment it would not fit. (My machine is a Janome Skyline 7 and its buttonhole attachment has a spot in the back where I put the button I’m using and it automatically determines the buttonhole length.) I ended up pulling it open as far as it would go and doing a test buttonhole. It actually turned out to be a little too long, so I adjusted it until I got the length I wanted. I hope this helps if anyone else is wondering about making large buttonholes!

I am so thrilled with my new Marlo and I’m itching to make another one cut between the cropped and hip length. June & Lu has a gorgeous assortment of See You At Six French terry that would be perfect for this or any other sweatshirt! I’m smitten with this duck green french terry and I may not be able to resist it for long. What have you been sewing lately?

Thanks for reading!

~Teri

One thought on “Marlo Sweater with June & Lu

Leave a comment