Sewing

Kalle Tunic

Hi there! Today I’m here to show off my Kalle Shirtdress, made in the tunic length. I have had my eye on this pattern since it was released and recently had the opportunity to sew the sample for the Indiesew shop. (Have you seen that Indiesew started carrying a few of the Closet Case paper patterns?) A lot of times when I sew samples for Indiesew I make the sample size to get a chance to work through the construction before I sew it for myself. This time around I was super excited to jump right in and make the Kalle tunic for ME!

Kalle Tunic-1

Kalle Tunic-12

Have you ever fallen in love with a fabric and absolutely had to have it, but then were unable to ever come up with a use for it? That is what happened to me with this Kaufman jacquard chambray. I love chambray and thought the design on the fabric was so cool. I had planned to use it for an Archer button up but when I went to cut it out I felt like it wasn’t right. So I let the fabric marinate in my stash for 2 years waiting for inspiration.

Kalle Tunic-2

Kalle Tunic-9

When the Kalle pattern was released I knew I wanted to try using my jacquard fabric for the tunic length top. I was a little bit fearful of the high cut on the side of the tunic, though, since it seemed like it would hit right above the widest part of my body and highlight my saddlebags. I hoped for the best and figured I could certainly shorten it to shirt length if it turned out to be unflattering.

Kalle Tunic-4

I cut a size 10 and graded out to a size 14 at the hip area. My only modification was to make a 5/8″ forward shoulder adjustment. The construction was really smooth and I loved sewing this. I tried a new technique for getting sharp collar points (using this tutorial from the Closet Case blog) and it worked so incredibly well. I was always satisfied with my method of using my bone folder to try to push out the collar points as much as possible, but now I am converted to the thread pull method.  All of my other hand made button downs are jealous of the collar on this one.

Kalle Tunic-6

I’ve never been much of a leggings wearer outside of workout clothes, but I think they are my best bet with this tunic. It would also look great with skinny jeans, but I don’t have any that fit me very well. I have some black denim in my stash that is earmarked to become skinny Ginger jeans at some point in the next few months. I bet I will wear this tunic and those hypothetical jeans together, too. Since this tunic is pretty voluminous it pairs best with something slim on the bottom. And thankfully, all of that volume doesn’t seem to call attention to my wide lower hips after all!

Kalle Tunic-8

My only regret with this tunic is that I didn’t get the placket pattern matched.  It’s like origami constructing a popover placket and I forgot which part of the placket actually ends up front and center. I could have probably recut it to try again but I decided that it wasn’t a big enough deal for me to do that. Once again, it’s something that only a sewist would notice and it’s certainly not going to keep me from wearing and loving this tunic.

Kalle Tunic-10

This pattern satisfies my love of shirt making with the proper collar/collar stand, but I also love that it comes together pretty quickly since it doesn’t involve all of the steps that go into making sleeves. I have the cropped version of the Kalle traced and ready to be sewn soon and I can’t wait to make the dress, too.  But seeing that it’s already mid-October I know I’ll be making some shirts with actual sleeves soon enough!

Thanks for reading!

~Teri

 

 

Save

Save

12 thoughts on “Kalle Tunic

  1. Very, very cute! This looks like a very nice utility garment, if that makes sense. Something that you will reach for again and again. Another win, Teri!

    Like

  2. I love everything about this. This outfit is so good on you! It’s chic and very flattering, and it looks easy to wear. I feel like I haven’t seen too many of this view in the blogosphere, which is a shame because it’s my favorite on the three.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Masha! I love this length, too. I think it’s great for this time of year since it pairs well with leggings or slim pants/jeans. Maybe we’ll see more of them made in the Fall/Winter. I saw on the Closet Case blog or IG that they are working on a sleeve expansion for the pattern. I’m definitely intrigued by that!

      Like

  3. I love your Kalle and that makes me sad! I did make up this pattern last summer and I’m afraid I completely botched the adjustments (FBA, FSA) – I did them as per Heather Lou’s sew-a-long instructions but for some reason it didn’t turn out right AND I had made the crazy AND lazy mistake of doing these adjustments on the original so the whole works went into the bin. I know if I’d done them right I would have loved it. I just finished making 2 of her Ebonys and just LOVE them 🙂

    Like

    1. Oh, Kathleen, that makes me sad, too! I really don’t love the process of tracing but with all my adjustments I force myself to do it on paper patterns. I do take the lazy way out when it comes to pdf patterns, though. I can always reprint if I bungle it somehow. I have been wanting to try the Ebony pattern but I haven’t had a chance yet. I feel like I would love it, too!

      Like

  4. I love this!!! Such a comfy cool look for you! You have been ON FIRE with the sewing lately, lady! I can’t keep up with commenting! But I love seeing your makes flying through my feed!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Inder! I know it’s so hard to keep up with blog reading and commenting. I am way behind on reading the blogs I follow. I love seeing your comments whenever you leave them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

