Sewing

Tencel Emerson Shorts

Hi, my name is Teri and I’m a tencel-aholic. I can’t get enough! I had some gorgeous jade tencel from Indiesew, left over from my Cleo skirt, and I knew I had to find a use for it. There was no chance I was going to let any of this fabric go unused.

Tencel Emerson Shorts 2

Tencel Emerson Shorts 3

I had been wanting to make a pair of Emerson shorts  and knew that the tencel would be a great match for the pattern. I was a tester for the Emerson pant when the pattern was released and my tester pants were a little bit too small for me and I wasn’t totally happy with the back view. I’ve learned more about fitting pants/shorts to my body since that pattern test so I’ve been wanting to revisit the pattern and see if I could improve the fit.

Tencel Emerson Shorts 4

Tencel Emerson Shorts 5

I decided to go up a size from what I had made before. I cut a size 14 graded to a 16 and I did a full seat adjustment of 5/8″. (I used the slash and spread method shown here to add a wedge to the back seat. I used this method on my Morgan jeans, too, and it works really well for me.) I also lengthened them 2.5″ and added about 3/8″ to the front and back crotch length to account for my full thighs.

Tencel Emerson Shorts 6

The adjustments worked well and I love the fit of these shorts. They are loose and flowy, possibly more loose and flowy than the pattern is intended to be, but I think it’s perfect in this tencel fabric. I tend to not be a fan of pleated front pants on my body, but I like the stitched down pleats on the Emerson pattern. These are cool and comfortable and I wore them quite often after I made them.

Tencel Emerson Shorts 7

Tencel Emerson Shorts 8

I tend to put my clothes through their paces and I am a bit of a lazy laundress. I threw caution to the wind and machine washed and dried these shorts with all of our regular laundry. After being washed a bunch of times I noticed some small abrasions had started forming on the fabric. (Right on the very front, of course! Gah!)  These abrasions are what I would love to see on my handmade jeans but aren’t what I want on my tencel shorts. There is a great post about sewing with tencel on the Indiesew website and Allie recommends line drying after the garment is complete. I switched over to washing on delicate and line drying to make sure I don’t inadvertently destroy these!

Tencel Emerson Shorts 9

Indiesew is currently sold out of this tencel, but Allie brings new fabrics into the shop regularly. Following Indiesew on Instagram or signing up for the newsletter is a great way to stay informed on what new fabrics and patterns are added to the shop. The Emerson pant and short pattern is available in the Indiesew shop here.  I was so happy with these shorts that I made a pair of Emerson pants that are going to be perfect for the transition from Summer to Fall. I’ll be back to show you those soon!

~Teri

p.s. The jade tencel fabric was provided to me by Indiesew since I am a member of their blogger team. The opinions expressed are my own.

Save

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “Tencel Emerson Shorts

  1. I’m a tencel fan too! And I discovered that it’s among the best for eco friendly – total bonus 🙂 I’m also a fan of IndieSew and have always been impressed with the quality of her fabrics. Your shorts are perfect! I love them – the colour, fabric, length, fit – they are just ideal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

