Sewing

Key Largo Top

Hi Guys! How are you? We are on our first official day of Summer today since the boys had their last day of school yesterday. It feels so nice to not have to rush to get ready for school and get out the door! I have a bit of a blogging backlog to get through and I’m starting with my new Key Largo top.

Key Largo 9

The Key Largo top is the newest pattern from Hey June. (This is my tester version of the top. The only change to the final version from this one was that the neckline is a tiny bit lower in the front.) This is a woven top with options for a straight hem or a tie front hem. The front pieces can be cut on the fold or as two separate pieces cut on the bias.

Key Largo 8

I don’t think you can see this at all in the photos, but I did cut the front pieces on the bias. I topstitched the seams down on the front to give it a little more interest. Obviously the bias cut is going to be a lot more noticeable on a plaid or striped fabric but I like the subtle detail on the solid fabric, too.

Key Largo 4

I really love the way this top fits! It’s really comfortable and easy to wear. I lengthened mine by an inch just for personal preference. The top is designed to hit at the high hip, just below the waistband of your jeans/pants.

Key Largo 5

I am really curious to try the tie front version next. I have some plaid gauze in my stash leftover from this Archer and I’m crossing my fingers that there is enough leftover for a Key Largo top. I think the tie front version would be so cute with denim shorts. (Denim shorts are on my sewing list for the Summer, but the top will be much quicker to make than they will be!)

Key Largo 7

I always love sewing Hey June patterns. The instructions, drafting, ease of construction, and seam finishing really set Adrianna’s patterns apart. If you’re looking for a great new Summer top pattern I highly recommend the Key Largo top!

~Teri

6 thoughts on “Key Largo Top

    1. Thanks, Janie! I like the center front seam, too. It’s a nice detail, especially when the front is cut on the bias. It would be really fun to play around with stripes or plaid on this top!

      Like

  1. You did not do a forward shoulder alteration yet this top fits the shoulder area well. Beautiful sewing and styling. Inspiring!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Joanne! I actually did do a forward shoulder adjustment and forgot to mention it in my post. Oops! I always make that adjustment but this top has a shoulder seam that is set a bit forward so I didn’t have to adjust quite as much as usual.

      Like

Leave a Reply

