Sewing

Ikat Everyday Skirt

Hello, sewing friends! Do any of you have the book Handmade Style by Anna Graham? It’s such a pretty book with filled with fun projects. One of the first things that I wanted to make after seeing the book is not one of the included patterns, but an outfit that Anna is wearing while featuring some fabric bracelets that she made. Ha! She’s wearing a mid-blue denim popover shirt and a fabulous black and white ikat skirt. I could not stop thinking about that outfit!

Ikat Everyday Skirt 5

It took me a little while, but I finally got the skirt part of my copycat outfit made! I bought this fabric last year from Fancy Tiger Crafts online shop. (They are sold out of the black and white, but have the indigo colorway. Here is the same fabric on fabric.com.) I considered using the Brumby skirt pattern but ended up going with my favorite skirt, the Everyday Skirt from Liesl + Co.

Ikat Everyday Skirt 4

It might be time for an Everyday Skirt intervention. This is the 7th time I’ve made this skirt for myself! I made my usual size L, shortened by 2″.  This ikat fabric is a little bit thin so I decided to underline it with a very lightweight black cotton lawn. I love how easy the Everyday skirt is to throw on with a t-shirt in the Summer and I knew I wasn’t going to want to wear a slip with it.

Ikat Everyday Skirt 1

I love my new skirt, but I do have one small regret. On all my other versions of this pattern I have made to sit lower on my waist, but this one I wanted to sit more at my natural waist. I think I should have sized down to a medium. Unless I pull it down lower on my waist the side panels end up more toward the back and the back piece is gathered pretty tightly. It’s not a huge problem, I’ll just wear it more low rise like my others, but now I know I should try going down a size to wear it higher.

Ikat Everyday Skirt 2

I love the comfort that the back elastic gives to this skirt. I usually wear mine very casually but I like how this looks with a button down shirt, too. Now I just need to get on making my mid-blue denim shirt to go with the skirt for my complete outfit! I really want to try the new Classic Shirt pattern from Liesl + Co as an alternative to the Archer, which is my go-to button down shirt. And I also want to make the new Kalle shirt from Closet Case, which is nothing like the inspiration shirt, but the cropped view in denim or white would probably be pretty amazing with this skirt!

Oooh, I almost forgot, are any of you doing Me Made May this year? I signed up with the pledge to wear Me Made clothes every day during May and also to make a new pair of jeans in the month of May. I’ll be documenting what I wear on Instagram (I’m @teridodds1 over there). Hope to see you there!

~Teri

 

 

Save

Save

6 thoughts on “Ikat Everyday Skirt

Leave a Reply

