Sewing

Trevi Top

Hi again! It’s highly unusual for me to do a blog post two days in a row, but I wanted to share my tester version of the Trevi Top. This is a new pattern from Hey June and it was released yesterday.

Trevi Tank 1

Trevi Tank 6

I love testing for Adrianna, the designer for Hey June. Her patterns are fun to sew, full of great details, and the finished garments are ones that I reach for repeatedly. I knew the Trevi top would be a great addition to my Spring/Summer wardrobe. I’m a sucker for that swingy shape paired with cutaway shoulders. The top and dress have a full button placket up the back to add some interest to an otherwise basic silhouette.

Trevi Tank 3

Trevi Tank 7

The pattern comes with a non-darted front piece that is designed for a B cup and a separate front piece with an FBA that fits up to a D cup. It probably goes without saying that I used the non-darted front piece. The sizing is based off of your high bust measurement and the waist and hips have a generous amount of ease, due to the trapeze cut. I made a size 8 and graded out to a size 12. On my next one I might cut a size 10 to get a little more ease through the upper bust or just use a slightly smaller seam allowance on this same size to get a little bit more room. This isn’t tight but it could be a smidge looser for those hot days when you barely want your clothes to touch you.

Trevi Tank 3

The insides of this top are all finished with french seams or bound with bias tape. I love when the insides look as great as the outsides! This fabric is a double gauze that has been aging in my stash waiting for the perfect project. I’m really glad I had it hanging around– it made a really nice Trevi! I want to make some white shorts to go with it and I may not take it off all Summer.

Trevi Tank 5

I know this is a pattern I will be returning to in the near future. I love the dresses that some of the other testers made and I really want to make another top from a nice, drapey rayon. It sews up really quickly and has a very high level of crafyy satisfaction, which makes it a win in my book.

Thanks for reading!

~Teri

7 thoughts on “Trevi Top

    1. Thanks, Kirsten! I can totally picture you in the dress version of this pattern. I think I’m going to try it out, even though I’m not sure how it will look on my shape. At the very least I can shorten it into a top if I end up looking like a blob, haha!

      Like

  1. Such great fabric and such a great fit! This looks so good on you Teri! Have I told you how much I love your sneakers yet? I’m pretty much in love with Hey June Patterns at the moment, so this one is on my list!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Heather! I think you’ll like this pattern a lot! It fits so nicely and has just the perfect amount of swing. These sneakers are Superga brand. I just got them recently and I like them a lot!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

