Sewing

Living Skirt Art // Hollyburn Skirt

janet-hill-image1

One of the most fun things I’ve gotten to do on my blog this year is to take part in the Living Skirt Art series on Skirt Fixation. Audrey and her girls have done some amazing recreations of famous works of art and I thought it would be such a fun challenge to try to do the same. I signed up to participate last January and then spent almost the entire year trying to find my perfect piece of art to re-create. It wasn’t until October that I fell down an Instagram rabbit hole and discovered the art of Janet Hill.

janet-hill-image2

Janet Hill is a painter who lives in Stratford, Ontario, Canada. Here is a blurb about her, taken from her website Janet Hill Studio: Janet’s work is both elegant, yet whimsical, often with an underlying narrative that instantly captures the imagination.  Her painting style evokes a sense of nostalgia,  timeless beauty, mystery and magic.  Her work is displayed in private collections throughout North America, Europe, Asia, and Australia. Some of Janet’s corporate clients include Tiffany & Co., Hallmark UK, and Harper Collins.  Her work has also been featured in Matchbook Magazine, Victoria Magazine, Design Sponge, This Is Glamorous, The Neo-Traditionalist, and Oh Joy!  Janet is also the author and illustrator of Miss Moon: Wise Words From A Dog Governess (Tundra Books/Penguin Random House Canada).

I found so many scenes that I wanted to try to re-create, but in the end I decided on her painting called This Is The Place She Had Been Heading All Her Life. I love the classic style of the woman who is pictured and I knew her outfit would be a fun one to sew.

Skirt Art photo

My backdrop requires a little bit of imagination since large, glamorous apartment building flanked by palm trees are hard to come by in Illinois in December. Since we are currently covered in snow I chose some colorful town houses with festive decorations as the place I’ve been heading all my life.

Archer and Hollyburn 1

Archer and Hollyburn 6

I was so very excited to create this outfit. I have been wanting to make the Sewaholic Hollyburn skirt for ages and it’s continually been pushed down in my sewing queue. I was kicking myself for waiting so long to sew this once it was done. I love the fit of the skirt and it’s really such a quick and easy sew.  I used this red cotton twill from Fabric.com. I love how this skirt looks in a fabric with some body but I’ve also got some rayon that I want to use for my next one.

Archer and Hollyburn 2

Archer and Hollyburn 5

I made a lightweight denim Archer button up to go with my skirt. I was so happy with this shirt until I realized I made a really weird mistake on the sleeves. This was the first time I tried a forward shoulder adjustment on the Archer. I adjusted the front piece, yoke, and sleeves to come forward 3/4″. Unfortunately I forgot to move the sleeve head notch forward the 3/4″ on the yoke so when I set the sleeves in there was a lot of excess in the back part of the armscye and not much ease in the front. As I was pinning them in I thought it was strange, but I didn’t stop to think long enough about why it was strange. After I put the finished shirt on and there was some poofing in the back of the sleeve I finally realized my problem.

Archer and Hollyburn 4

Archer and Hollyburn 8

I have contemplated taking off the sleeves and setting them in correctly but I don’t think it’s going to happen. I also managed to snip a small hole in the shirt right by the collar stand while clipping a stray thread after it was totally finished. It’s not visible, since the collar covers it, but knowing that I’d be unpicking a bunch of seams on a shirt with a hole just doesn’t seem worth it. I made this shirt with the intention of wearing it mostly with skirts, but I think the more fitted shape of the Sewaholic Granville shirt would be better tucked into a skirt. I intended to muslin the Granville in 2016 but that never happened. I am going to try to push that one up higher on the list in 2017 to wear with my fun red Hollyburn skirt.

Arhcer and Hollyburn 3

Please be sure to visit Skirt Fixation today to see Audrey’s Living Skirt Art post. Here is a preview of her latest re-creation– I love this view of her growing baby bump!

clotilde-us-2

Thanks so much to Audrey, Allegra, Aria, and Annie for having me as part of the Living Skirt Art series. It was so much fun and just the push I needed to finally make this skirt pattern, which is a new favorite.

Wishing you all a Happy New Year! See you in 2017!

~Teri

I I h

I Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

7 thoughts on “Living Skirt Art // Hollyburn Skirt

  1. Thank you so very much Teri for participating! I love, love, love your work of art here!! That skirt is fantastic, and I think you’ll get a lot of wear out of that shirt…even with a hole! Also, excited to have a new artist to explore!

    Like

  2. What a fun project! Sometimes these challenges end up with garments that don’t realistically fit into one’s wardrobe, but not so here! Love the inspiration artwork you choose!

    Like

Leave a Reply

