Sewing

Itch To Stitch Holiday Blog Tour

its-holiday-blog-tour

Hello! I am excited to be taking part in the Itch to Stitch Holiday Blog Tour! This tour was put together by two inspiring seamstresses and bloggers Fleurine from Sew MarieFleur and Leslie from ThreadBear Garments. I have admired many of the patterns from Itch to Stitch for a while, but until this tour my only experience in sewing one was the sample of the Emily Culottes for the Indiesew shop. I was happy to finally get to try one for myself.

Idyllwild Dress 7

Idyllwild Dress 6

I decided to try the Idyllwild dress since I’ve really been wanting to make myself a knit dress along the lines of the awesome dresses from Sonnet James. I consulted with Michelle from Style Maker Fabrics, who was graciously supplying fabrics for the tour, and she suggested that I use this metallic twill weave ponte for my dress. The fabric is a nice heavy weight that I thought would be great for a more fitted dress. It’s really sparkly and festive– perfect for the holiday season!

Idyllwild Dress 5

Idyllwild Dress 3

This would have been a really quick sew, but I ran into some issues with fitting that took me a bit longer to (sort of) work out. I had a lot of pooling in my lower back and spent some time trying to adjust the back piece to minimize the pooling. The fabric requirements for the dress were generous so I was able to cut the back piece twice after doing a pretty major swayback adjustment. I still have some pooling in the lower back that I wasn’t able to completely fix. I think if I’d gone for a little bit looser fit maybe the pooling would have gone away, but I felt like this weight of fabric looked better when I made the dress more fitted.

I decided to finish the neck with a neck binding instead of the neckband included in the pattern. The binding worked really well and I think it looks a smidge fancier in my sparkly fabric. My coverstitch machine absolutely loved sewing this ponte, which was a pleasant surprise. I feel like I want to buy all the ponte now that I know how easy it was to sew!

Idyllwild Dress 12

Idyllwild Dress 11

Initially I figured I would wear this dress with black tights and heels but when I was reviewing the photos I felt like something was missing. The camera isn’t accurately capturing the fun sparkles on the fabric, and I felt like it really needed something. I was wishing for some accessories like a statement necklace or a thin belt. Then realized that I should just style it in a more Teri way.  I threw on my jean jacket, changed into my boots instead of the shoes I couldn’t walk in, and added a flannel scarf (which is actually a fabric scrap that obviously needs to become a cowl!) I feel so much more comfortable and like myself this way! I am excited to wear this dress this season because it’s like glittery secret pajamas, which is really what we all need, right?!

Idyllwild Dress 9

Idyllwild Dress 10

As part of the tour Itch to Stitch patterns is offering 16% off patterns with the code Holiday16. Style Maker Fabrics is offering $5 shipping on all fabric (no code needed) and there is also a discount on international shipping.

Thank you so much to Kennis for supplying the Idyllwild pattern, to Style Maker Fabrics for supplying the fabric, and to Fleurine and Leslie for asking me to be a part of the tour! Be sure to check out the rest of the tour this week– I’ve seen some amazing sneak peeks from some of the other participants that have me wanting to squeeze in some more holiday sewing!

ITCH TO STITCH HOLIDAY BLOG TOUR 2016
DECEMBER 6th
DECEMBER 9th
DECEMBER 10th

~Teri

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

27 thoughts on “Itch To Stitch Holiday Blog Tour

  1. Your dress looks great, Teri! I agree that it’s best when styled “The Teri Way”! It looks really cozy and cute with the jacket, scarf and boots!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Berte! I actually didn’t know that I needed glittery secret pajamas until I made this dress– but now it seems so obvious! 🙂 I’m glad I found a way to fit a sparkly dress into my everyday life!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You dress turned out so pretty! I love the fabric and how you styled it. I agree, dresses like these are so comfy yet they look quite put together and elegant 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Cassy! I was thinking of using that plaid fabric to make pj pants for one of my kids, but I’m pretty sure that I am going to keep it for myself and make a cowl or blanket scarf!

      Like

  3. This dress is super cute, especially with the casual styling. I love a denim jacket and boots look! The back pooling really looks minimal, but if you haven’t seen it already, look for the swayback fix for knits from Pattern~Scissors~Cloth. She has you adjust the angle of the back shoulder seam to shorten the back length.

    Like

Leave a Reply

