Sewing

Seamly Co Patterns from Indiesew

Seamly blog tour

Hi! I am so happy to be part of the blog tour introducing the new Seamly collection from Indiesew!  Seamly is a US based company with a mission to produce apparel responsibly– using either surplus fabric, fabric that is knitted in the US, or fabric that is sustainably and responsibly made overseas. (That info is from the about page on Seamly’s website and you can read more here.) Allie, the co-founder of Indiesew, collaborated with Seamly to release sewing patterns for three styles that Seamly will no longer produce.

Basic Tee 2

Basic Tee 3

I was a pattern tester for all three of the styles that make up the Seamly collection. Unfortunately, my Vallynne tank wasn’t super successful because of the fabric I used, but I love the other two pieces I made. (I am wearing my tester Vallynne in this post and because the fabric I used was too stretchy the armholes ended up being too low. Allie wrote a great post about choosing fabrics for your Seamly garments and you can really see how much difference fabric can make!)

Basic Tee 4

I used fabrics from the Indiesew fabric shop for my Basic tee and Wrapped Cardigan and I am so happy with how they turned out. The basic tee is a great, loose fitting, scoop neck tee. I know I am going to be wearing this a lot this summer! I made a size medium graded to an XL at the hips and I love the way it fits.

Basic Tee 5

I have always been a crewneck girl, but I really like the scoop neck on this tee. When I was sewing this top and tried it on before hemming I realized that it would make a great starting place for a t-shirt dress. I adore the dresses from Sonnet James and I think if I extend the length of this pattern I will be able to make my own version. (I may have already ordered fabric to try it.)

Basic Tee 6

I ended up shortening the t-shirt by an inch (I am just about 5’8″.) My only other change was to do my standard forward shoulder adjustment.

Basic Tee 7

Wrapped Cardigan 1

I am completely in love with my Wrapped Cardigan. I think there are a lot of different ways that this pattern can be worn but I know I will probably always wear it loose over a t-shirt with jeans/pants. I have been reaching for this cardigan on cool evenings when we are outside playing with the kids. I love the swingy style and in the rayon/lycra jersey it’s the perfect weight.

Wrapped Cardigan 3

Wrapped Cardigan 5

I made a size medium graded to XL in this, too, but when I tried it on before hemming I felt like it was too long. I ended up cutting off 6″ from the bottom and I am much happier with the length. When I cut off the bottom I think I lost some of the grading so it’s probably closer to a medium graded to a large. It is so swingy that I think this ended up being perfect. The only problem with cutting off the hem was that I lost use of the hidden inside pockets, which I think are a fun feature of this pattern.

Wrapped Cardigan 7

I could stand to do a forward shoulder adjustment on this one, too, but based on the shape of the pattern pieces I wasn’t sure how to execute it. Now that I’ve constructed it once I think I should be able to figure it out pretty easily. I will probably get a chance once Fall rolls around because I’m sure I’ll want to make another one in a solid color.

Wrapped Cardigan 8

I hope you check out the other stops on the blog tour! I always love seeing how different people sew/wear the same pattern and there have been some amazing posts so far.

June 8: Inside the Hem
June 9: The Doing Things Blog
June 10: Dandelion Drift
June 13: The Sara Project
June 14: Fa Sew La
June 15: Sew Mariefleur
June 16: Right Sides Together
June 17: Allie J.
June 18: Cut Cut Sew

Thanks for reading!

~Teri

Save

Save

Save

7 thoughts on “Seamly Co Patterns from Indiesew

  1. I like both the garments but especially the cardigan. It fits you well. What do you mean by your standard forward shoulder adjustment? I am NOT a garment sewer…still reading a lot. I learn a lot by reading your blog.

    Like

    1. Hi Holly! I’m so glad you learn a lot from reading my posts. I have forward shoulders, which means that the outer part of my shoulders curves toward the front of my body. It’s due to bad posture and being hunched over a computer for lots of years. The shoulder seam of my tops usually sits behind where my shoulder is, which can cause pulling toward the back. So I do an adjustment, called a forward shoulder adjustment, which extends the back piece at the shoulder and shortens the front piece at the shoulder. The seam ends up sitting at my actual shoulder that way. (I also have to adjust the top of the sleeve to bring the highest part of the sleeve cap forward.) Here is a link to a basic tutorial for a forward shoulder adjustment. http://www.mariadenmark.com/2012/08/forward-shoulder-alteration/

      Like

Leave a Reply

