Sewing

Santa Fe Top

Santa Fe 3

Hi! I’m back today with another one of the many patterns that I tested in May. This time I tested for Adrianna of Hey June Patterns, the Santa Fe Top. I always enjoy testing Adrianna’s patterns– I think they are top notch and I know I would buy them if I wasn’t a tester.

Santa Fe 4

The Santa Fe is another pattern from Hey June that is a great value for your money. There are a bunch of different views– two tanks and a cut on sleeve tee, both with options for colorblocking or center front/back seams. I went with the most basic short sleeved tee version. I made it with one fabric and cut my fabric on the fold to avoid painful print matching down the front and back seams.

Santa Fe 6

Santa Fe 7

This version of the pattern is finished with a neck binding and cuffs at the sleeves. It is easy to put together and I love the swingy shape.  I made a size M graded to an XL and this version is not hemmed because I ended up liking the length as it is. Next time I will probably add half an inch or so to the length so that I can hem it.

Flamingo Santa Fe 1

When I was sewing this version of the top I managed to stretch out the neckline so badly that I was sure it was going to be a wadder. Thankfully a trip through the wash saved the neckline but while it was washing it I cut out this crazy flamingo fabric just in case my first one was going to make me look like I was an extra in Flashdance.

Flamingo Santa Fe 2

I originally did a contrast neck binding but ended up hating it. This fabric is pretty thin and when I started to unpick the neck I made all sorts of holes. I put the shirt in time out for a while and eventually decided to cut off the contrast binding and add a regular neck band. That worked well and now I am much happier with the shirt.

Flamingo Santa Fe 3

I am looking forward to making one of the tank views soon. I tried to make a shirt like this on my own last year and my fabric was not right for it at all. I think with a great rayon/spandex fabric and this pattern I will be much more successful at getting the look I was going for. Are any of you sewing the Santa Fe top?

~Teri

7 thoughts on “Santa Fe Top

  1. Sooo funny to find this in my reader this morning! I was sewing up one of the tank versions this morning. I still have to do all the binding and hem it, though. I didn’t make a muslin first, so I have no idea if it’s going to be long enough. On the plus side, I’m just using rayon scraps, so it’s not really a big deal. I think I went with the straight large – I learned my lesson from the Lane Raglan! Even though that’s an entirely different pattern, when I made it, I think I measured as a medium but it was sooooo tight. At some point I will have to give it another go.

    I love the flamingo version! So fun!

    Like

  2. These are both awesome!! I saw that flamingo print at LA Finch and I almost bought it, but I didn’t, and now I wish I did. Can’t wait to get this pattern!

    Like

  3. I have bought this pattern and even printed it off. I really need to make it! I love the simple lines and swingy cut of the top. Yours look really pretty! The flamingo print is really fun 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

