Sewing

Plaid Flannel Archer

Archer 5

Hi guys! I am back today with the first item I finished sewing in 2016 and it’s another Archer! I made this one from a plaid flannel that I ordered from the Indiesew shop. (At the time of this writing the site says there is 3.5 yds left but I know that the fabrics tend to sell out really quickly.) It is really soft, snuggly, and so nice to wear. I was excited to make this shirt because I thought the colors in the fabric would look great with my old favorite faded jeans.

Archer 1

I made the Archer the same size as my other two. (See here and here.) It’s a size 10 graded to a 14 in the hips. I am still working on tweaking the sleeve length/cuff width and I think this time I’m pretty close to perfect. I shortened the sleeve by half an inch and I went down one more size in the cuff to a size 6. I think I will probably try going down one more cuff size on my next one to see how I like it. I have some pretty pink Tana lawn waiting to become an Archer once Spring gets a little closer.

Archer 4

I decided to flat fell the seams after everything was cut and it was a challenge. I think the seam allowances really need to be larger than 1/2″ or it’s really difficult to get everything folded, tucked, and topstitched nicely. It was a little easier on my chambray Archer because the fabric was thinner and pressed like a dream. Next time I need to decide to flat fell before I cut so I can increase the seam allowances and make it easier on myself.

Archer 2

I also grabbed the placket piece from the Granville pattern and did tower plackets on the sleeves. I cut my yoke, button band, plackets, pockets, and cuffs on the bias because laziness I like how it looks. I have been wearing this steadily since I made it and I’m so happy with it! It’s a great shirt for a cold winter day!

Archer 6

The last few days I’ve been working on sewing some knits. I made a bunch of t-shirts for the kids and 2 Lark Tees for myself. I have a couple more quick projects that I want to do this week and then I’m planning to start working on my Phoebe dress. I’ve got all my materials and I need to start the muslin process. It’s been a while since I’ve gone through the fitting process on a new pattern and it should be an adventure! Is anyone else trying out something new?

~Teri

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Plaid Flannel Archer

    1. Thank you, Meg! I got these sneakers at Ann Taylor Loft last year and I have worn them soooo much. I hope they have them again this spring because I’m worried these are going to wear out!

      Like

    1. Thanks, Gail! I usually order an extra half a yard just to be sure that I have enough for the bias details. I usually don’t end up using all of it but I’m usually scared I won’t have enough if I order only an extra quarter yard.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Heather! I think it adds interest, too. I love a good matched pattern, but I also like being able to see the pockets stand out on the shirt. Plus it doesn’t require nearly as much brain power to cut the accents on the bias! πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

