Kids Sewing · Sewing

Puppet Show Dress

Puppet Show Dress 3

Hi there! About 2 months ago I made the Oliver + S Puppet Show dress for Caroline to wear when we took her for her first professional pictures. When the boys were little I did a better job about professional pictures. I think I took them for pictures at 4 months, 8 months, and a year. My poor sweet girl didn’t get any taken at 4 months and then all of a sudden she was 6 months old! Better late than never, I guess. Of course the day before the picture appointment I decided that I needed to make her something to wear.

Puppet Show Dress Back

I was searching my files of digital patterns and came across the Puppet Show dress pattern. This was one of the few patterns I already owned that started with small enough sizes for her. I decided to go for it, but the Sarah Jane Wee Wander feather fabric I had in mind hadn’t been prewashed. I started assembling the pattern while the fabric was washing. I don’t think I started sewing until mid-afternoon.

Puppet Show Dress 2

This is not a dress I would recommend for last minute sewing! I found the bodice lining to be a little bit fiddly and I’m not really happy with the job I did on the inside. But it’s on the inside and I wasn’t going to get too hung up on it when I had very limited time. This was the first time I’d ever done set in sleeves on such a tiny dress. (Based on her measurements at the time I sewed the 3-6 month size but I lengthened it to the 6-12 month size.) Trying to sew around that tiny armscye was so difficult! I got there in the end, but it was a real challenge. I think next time around I will try to put the sleeves in flat.

Puppet Show Dress 1

Puppet Show Dress Back 2

I had to modify the sleeves a little bit because of her chunky arms. There is supposed to be a button on the cuff, but I was not going to be able to fit her arm in the sleeve if I did the button cuff. I ended up making a little pleat right above the cuff and sewing it together. This photo is the best I got of the sleeve detail. I took these pictures 2 months ago and she wasn’t sitting up very well at that point. I’d sit her on the couch and she’d just tip right over. She’s sitting up like a champ now at 8 months so she might be a little bit better model now. I guess that means it’s time to make her something else!

Puppet Show Dress Sleeve detail

I just found this photo of a Snow White Puppet Show dress on pinterest and now I think I need to make her this dress for Halloween! Of course I don’t have any of the right fabric (or the time, really!) I should probably just forget about how cute it is, right?

Have a great weekend!

~Teri

16 thoughts on “Puppet Show Dress

    1. Sadly, I ran out of time for the Snow White dress, but I think I will make it for her eventually. It’s just too cute of an idea to pass up and this pattern only goes up to 24 months, I think. I’ll have to get to it sooner than later!

      Like

    1. Thanks, Audrey! That’s sort of like having a baby, I think– I always forget the toil of the whole pregnancy and first few weeks with a newborn when they turn 6 months old and are just as cute as can be!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

