Sewing

Baseball Skirt // Selfish Sewing Week

Baseball Skirt 1 resized

Hi there! It’s almost the end of Selfish Sewing Week, a fun event sponsored by Indiesew, Imagine Gnats, and Kollabora. Have you been sewing anything for yourself this week? I am excited to be part of the Indiesew blog tour and I’m really excited to show you this great skirt I made!  Last winter, when I was big and pregnant I saw this skirt and I knew I needed to make one like it. But because of having a new baby and not being my normal size I didn’t get to it. Then flannel season ended and it got pushed to the back burner.

Baseball Skirt 5

I was originally thinking of sewing some leggings during Selfish Sewing Week, since I really need some new workout gear. But then I was browsing the Indiesew pattern shop and I saw the Sew DIY Baseball skirt. I follow Beth’s blog and I always enjoy her posts. She has a great mix of finished sewing projects and inspiration posts. I remembered that she had recently shown a version of her Baseball skirt pattern where the front was the same length as the back (instead of the high low hem that is the main view of the pattern.) The pattern recommends using lighter weight fabrics with drape but I didn’t want to make a summer weight skirt since the weather is cooling off here.

Baseball Skirt 3

As I was mulling it over I remembered that adorable buffalo plaid skirt and I knew I had to give it a try. I actually have a red and black buffalo plaid flannel fabric in my stash but I have more than the pattern calls for (not enough that I would be able to do much with the leftovers, though) so it made perfect sense to me that I should get new fabric for this project. I ordered this Robert Kaufman Mammoth Plaid to use for my skirt. Have you ever used any of the Kaufman flannels? I used the Shetland flannels last year for some ponchos and the fabric is soooooo soft.

Baseball Skirt 2

My hip measurement (43″) puts me in the size XL range, so I initially cut a size L graded to an XL at the waist. I ended up cutting it down to a M graded to an L since I didn’t want the skirt to be too full in this heavier fabric.  I lengthened the front skirt piece by 2.5″ so it would be the same length as the back.

Baseball Skirt close up

I also changed the pockets a bit to make them less bulky at the hips. The pattern has inseam pockets, but I changed them to single layer slash pockets (using the Hudson pants pattern for a guide.) I made bias tape out of a quilting cotton scrap to finish the pocket edge and then stitched the pocket piece directly to the front of the skirt. I decided to leave off the drawstring because I didn’t think I’d be tucking anything into this skirt and I didn’t want to have a belly bulge if I pulled my sweater down over the waistband.

Baseball Skirt 6

I’m so glad that using a heavier fabric ended up working out. Now I have a super fun, super soft skirt that is perfect for fall! I love the curved hem– it’s a unique detail on a basic skirt. This pattern doesn’t require a lot of fabric and even with my few modifications I was able to sew it up in an evening.  I am really excited to wear it this fall and winter!

Be sure to check out the other stops on the blog tour, too!

9/28: Priscilla | Fashion & Fishing
9/29: Lucinda | Sew Wrong
9/30: Heather | Feather’s Flights
10/1: Abbey | Sew Charleston
10/2: Teri | Fa Sew La
10/3: Jess | La Mercerie

~Teri

Disclaimer: I was offered a pattern of my choice from the Indiesew pattern shop as part of the Selfish Sewing Blog tour. All opinions are my own.

10 thoughts on “Baseball Skirt // Selfish Sewing Week

    1. Thanks, Noelle! This is one of those great palette cleanser patterns to make up after doing some more difficult sewing. It’s quick, easy, and fun! I know I’ll be coming back to this pattern next Spring, if not before.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Kirsten! The plaid is so soft and I have just a little bit leftover. I feel like maybe I should make a snuggly flannel cowl from it since our weather is starting to be pretty chilly!

      Like

Leave a Reply

