Sewing

Tana Lawn Beatrix Top

Beatrix 1

A while back when Cotton + Steel first introduced their line of double gauze fabrics there were tons of photos of their quilt market booth on Instagram. I remember spotting a top in one of the photos and wondering what the pattern was. It was a simple short sleeved blouse with a shirt tail hem. I loved the shape of the hem and figured that I could possibly use my Scout tee pattern to make something similar.

Beatrix Front Close

Well, it wasn’t too long after that Rae posted this on her blog and I knew it had to be the same shirt. The back wasn’t visible in the Cotton + Steel booth photos, so it was a cool surprise to see that the shirt buttons up the back. She mentioned that she’d been working on the pattern for a while, so I tried to wait patiently for the pattern to be released. Then one day in April all of my dreams came true when I got an e-mail asking me if I’d like to help test the new pattern, called Beatrix.

Beatrix Side Close

If you’ve read my blog for a while you know that I love Rae’s patterns. (And my head almost exploded when Rae took note of how much I love her patterns!) Her women’s patterns fit me well and I wear them all the time. I loved being part of the testing group for this pattern. The team over at Made by Rae is very thorough and it was great to see the process that they go through to get a pattern ready to be released.

Beatrix Side

Beatrix has two views and I tested the 3/4 sleeve view that has banded sleeves and a banded bottom. My test version was just made out of muslin and (HOORAY!) it’s too big now. I like this view a lot and think that it would look really amazing in one of Anna Maria Horner’s new Loominous fabrics. I’ve got to put that on my sewing list for the fall! I made my first official Beatrix out of leftover fabric from my very first purchase of Liberty Tana Lawn. I had used part of the yardage previously for this Josephine top and I had just enough to squeak out the short sleeved view of Beatrix.

Beatrix 2

I cut between a medium and large for the upper body and graded out to x-large for the hips. I think it fits me perfectly! (My measurements are bust 36.5, hips 43.) The only thing I will change for next time is to do a forward shoulder adjustment of about 1/2″. I almost always have to do this and I knew I needed to based on my muslin, but then I forgot to adjust the pattern before I started cutting. (This top is made from the tester pattern. I know Rae made a few changes to the final pattern– raising the hem and adjusting the position of the darts. I made both of those changes to this version based on my first muslin, anyway, so it is probably pretty close to the actual pattern.)

Beatrix Back

It’s hard to see, but I used 6 navy blue buttons up the back of the shirt. I really wanted to use green buttons, but I couldn’t find any that were a good match. I was in too much of a hurry to wear the shirt, so I just went with what I had on hand. I am really excited to make another one of these for summer– maybe in the Cotton + Steel double gauze that I’ve got stashed away. This is another great pattern from Rae and I’d highly recommend it!

~Teri

19 thoughts on “Tana Lawn Beatrix Top

  1. Great style and fabric Teri! I see why you were taken by that shirt hemline – its very flattering. Beautifully done! If you pattern test does it mean you get the pattern free?

    Like

    1. Thanks, Hila! Yes, when you test a pattern you get the test version free (well, in exchange for your services of making up the pattern and giving feedback) and then usually the designer also sends the final pattern to the testers when everything is all wrapped up.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Rae! I am so happy that I can wear my fancy fabric now! I am in the process of another Beatrix, this time hacked into a dress. I am excited to see how it turns out!

      Like

  2. Very cute!! I am intrigued by this pattern, especially because it does have a large bust size option, and I’ll do anything to avoid having to do an FBA … I think for me I’d want to do it in a nice drapey fabric so that it wouldn’t poof out over the bosoms too much and look matronly … oh the joys of a large bust.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Inder! I think this would be great in a drapey fabric. This fabric is rather crisp but my main concern is it sticking out over my tummy since I am in the small bust category! Eventually I would like to try it in a rayon since that would have a lot better drape.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Heather! It really does feel amazing. I have two more pieces of Liberty fabric stashed away. One of them is intended to be a Granville shirt, but I haven’t gotten a muslin made yet. I think that will have to wait until the fall. I have a sewing dare that I have to work on first! Wink, Wink.

      Like

  3. This is such a cute top on you, and how cool that Rae reached out to you for testing! The Liberty lawn must feel so nice to wear, and I really like the navy buttons up the back. Do you have to undo the buttons to get the top on and off (and can you reach them all)? I always wonder about that with buttons on the back.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Carolyn! I forgot to mention that in my blog post– I can slip this on over my head without undoing any of the buttons. I think I could probably reach most of the buttons if I needed to, but so far I haven’t unbuttoned any of them.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Meg! Yes, I think the fit is really similar to Josephine if you leave off the back elastic casing. I think Rae actually used the Josephine pattern as a starting point for this one.

      Like

  4. I am finally catching up ok blog reading after the holiday weekend- what a pretty shirt! I love your fabric choice. đŸ™‚ I was taken by the hemline shape when Rae started offering sneak peeks, too. It looks great on you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

