Sewing

Briar Tee and Elastic Waist Thurlow Shorts

Briar Tee and Shorts 1

During Me Made May I wore my first and only Briar tee shirt and remembered how much I liked it. I had just ordered some of this great Leah Duncan jersey with the intention of making it into a Plantain tee, but I decided to make it into a Briar Tee pattern instead. It was really funny to go back to a pattern that I’d only used once over a year ago. My systems for PDF patterns have changed over the last year. Now I send all of my files to my Kindle or iPad so I don’t need to print out the directions. Also, with a basic tee I don’t need the directions for much other than seam allowance information.

Briar Tee 2

It was funny to find the printed directions in my file folder and also to not really find any notes to myself about fit changes I’d made. I knew I needed a forward shoulder adjustment and a slight swayback adjustment, so I made those changes to the pattern. I also knew I’d modified the high-low hem to not be so severe, but I hadn’t made the changes to the pattern. I took care of that, too, so that next time my pattern changes should be very minimal.

Briar Tee 3

I think the fit of this one is really good, except for some bunching in the lower armscye. I think a sloping shoulder adjustment could help, or maybe just making a dart on my pattern to get rid of the excess fabric there. The fabric is so soft and I know I’ll be wearing this a lot over the summer.

Briar Tee and Shorts 2

My shorts are a modified version of the Thurlow shorts. Lisa G from Notes From A Mad Housewife came up with this idea and posted a tutorial on her blog. My pre-pregnancy Thurlows were fitting pretty well, so I was excited to give this version a try. I followed her tutorial, except I added an extra half inch all the way down the side seam, in addition to the half inch I added to the waist on the side seams and center back seam. My previous Thurlows were made from a stretch twill and these are a non stretch fabric so I figured I could use some extra room. My shorts are made the length of the pattern, but not cuffed. I also slimmed the leg a bit based on my favorite RTW shorts.

Thurlow Shorts 1

The fabric I used is a really nice linen/cotton blend in a dark denim color. I am really happy with it. It’s got the look of denim but it’s nice and cool for summer. I really want to make these again in a khaki linen and maybe try them in rayon. Elastic waist shorts sew up so quickly and I think this was such a brilliant hack on the Thurlow pattern. Thanks, Lisa!

Has anyone else started sewing shorts? Shorts on the line is happening over on Kollabora and I know I’ll be getting lots of inspiration over there.

~Teri

20 thoughts on “Briar Tee and Elastic Waist Thurlow Shorts

    1. Thanks, Abigail! I’m really trying to make things that coordinate this summer. I can wear these shorts with lots of tops! I think navy is going to be my color of the summer.

      Like

  1. I agree, you always choose such nice fabrics! I get a lot of my fabric inspiration (and enabling) from this blog. πŸ™‚ This looks like a perfect casual outfit for the summer, and comfortable too!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Carolyn! I am trying so hard to make practical clothes for this summer. It’s tempting to make all dresses, but they are not the greatest for going down slides and climbing ladders. So pretty prints on knits helps satisfy my fabric urges! Sorry (sort of!) for being an enabler!

      Like

  2. These are both great!! I love the idea of turning a good waistband shorts pattern into an elastic waist pair! Genius! And I love the Briar too, but haven’t sewn it since I discovered the Plantain … I think I need a Briar with the Plantain neckline …

    Like

    1. I feel much better about these legs of mine when I am wearing a skirt, but shorts are easier for playing at the park. Culottes might be a good idea, but I’m still a little scared to repeat that trend. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

