Sewing

Sailor Top

Sailor Top full

Hello! I have just come off of a really crazy week of sewing. First, I made this really fun green Sailor Top. Then I speed sewed a dress that I wore to Caroline’s baptism (which was a bit of a disappointment, but that is a story coming another day.) I made two versions of the Jenna Cardi from Muse Patterns. I had the pleasure of testing two patterns, one was a really cute and fun mini quilt by Ellis & Higgs and the second was the Beatrix pattern that is upcoming from Made by Rae. I can’t wait to show you both of those, but I have to wait for the all-clear to share the quilt and currently my only Beatrix is made out of muslin. It will be a lot more fun to talk about when I have one made out of something pretty!

Sailor Top full side

So back to the Sailor top. It was designed by Amber from Fancy Tiger Crafts. I follow both Amber and Jamie from Fancy Tiger on Instagram and they both make the most amazing things. They quilt, they sew, they knit, they spin their own wool, they go on amazing trips– I’d recommend their feeds if you’re not already following them.

Sailor top 1

I loved the look of this top when it was first released but I showed some restraint and didn’t buy it right away since I was pregnant. The pattern showed up on Indiesew and that’s when I pulled the trigger. I loved the yellow Cotton + Steel version that is on the cover of the pattern, but yellow is not a color that I can really wear. I decided to go for the same fabric but in this grass green color with the super fun gold Xs.

Sailor close up

I had read quite a few reviews that said this top runs small through the shoulders. My shoulders are not broad, but I decided that it would be a good idea to make a muslin just to double check the fit.  My bust measurement was in line with size L and hips put me in the XL, so for my muslin I cut a large graded to XL. The fit of my muslin was pretty great, but I did have a little issue with the back of the neckline not laying flat. I darted out about 1/4″ on the pattern piece, which solved the issue in my final top.

Sailor top 2

This top came together really quickly once I started sewing. I love sewing tops with raglan sleeves. They’re just so easy to construct. I did french seams on the sleeves and side seams. The sleeves and neck are finished with a facing, so the insides are neat and clean, which I love. The Cotton + Steel quilting cotton was great to sew and I think it works for this type of top. I sort of get a retro vibe from this style with the gathers at the top and the A-line shape. It’s really comfortable and I really like wearing it a lot!

Sailor top 3

I’ve got some double gauze in my stash that I bought with the intention of sewing it into a Sailor top. It’s my first ever double gauze and it’s just so soft and pretty! I am interested to see how this shirt feels in a soft fabric with more drape. Now I just have to force myself to actually cut into it instead of hoarding it forever!

~Teri

17 thoughts on “Sailor Top

  1. Love the brilliant green of this fabric! It goes so well with the pattern! Looking firward to seeing your other makes – I am intrigued by the mini quilt.

    Like

  2. You are adorable!!!! I love this fabric, and this pattern. And I can tell from your smile that you love it and feel great in it, and that’s really the ticket, isn’t it? Well done! What a cute simple top!

    Like

  3. I love that green color on you, your top looks great! I know what you mean about the double gauze – I always find myself taking several deep breaths before cutting into it!

    Like

    1. Cross your fingers for me when I finally do cut into my double gauze. I have a top that I’m doing a muslin on this weekend and if it turns out well I will be making it from my hoarded double gauze!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this top on you! And the color is so great… such a perfect shade of green. I love the gold X’s too! I bet you will love the double gauze version… can’t wait to see it!

    Like

  5. for reals you are inspiring me to make my own clothes!! =) love your choice of print and color! it looks great on you! i was wondering what kind of interfacing did you use? i’m still very new to sewing and have much to learn! thanks in advance!

    Like

    1. I’m so glad to provide sewing inspiration! I had to look it up to be sure, but this pattern actually doesn’t use interfacing. I usually just get my interfacing from Joann Fabrics and use a lightweight fusible. I should probably write down the number next time I buy any because I seem to end up buying something different each time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

