Sewing

Geranium Dress

Geranium dress 1

Hello lovely readers! I am checking in today with some more pictures of my sweet baby girl. When Caroline was born I think I waited about 15 minutes before I started making a mental list of what I wanted to sew for her. The first thing on my list was the Geranium dress from Made by Rae. I love Rae’s patterns (especially the Washi which is my most made pattern!) and I was really excited to finally be able to make one of these darling dresses.

Geranium dress 2

Rae offers the 0-3 month size free on her website so a few days after we got home from the hospital I downloaded it and made Caroline’s first dress. It was only this past week that I finally put it on her to wear on Easter. I love how it looks on her and I can’t wait to make more of these as she gets older.

Geranium back 1

I used some Amy Butler fabric that I’ve had in my stash for a really long time. I had about half a yard left over from another project and it was just enough to make this dress. I also made a coordinating diaper cover with a solid turquoise fabric that was also in my stash. I used the free tutorial from Dana Made It, which was super easy, super quick, and looks adorable with the dress.

Geranium back

The buttons on the back of the dress just kill me.  I think it is crazy adorable (even if my buttons are two different colors! Oops!) Sewing tiny dresses is just so much fun and it’s really satisfying to be able to use small cuts of leftover fabrics that are languishing in my stash!

Baby face

I really enjoyed sewing this dress and I know there will be many more Geranium dresses in Caroline’s future. Be back soon with my Easter dress!

~Teri

19 thoughts on “Geranium Dress

  1. OMG! Teeny baby with teeny tiny Geranium Dress! Squeeeeeeal! So cute. This is a great pattern, you’re going to love sewing it up in all the sizes.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Inder! I love that this dress comes in so many sizes so I can keep making them for years to come. Although this will probably be my all time favorite since it’s the first thing I sewed for her. 💕💖

      Like

    1. Thanks, Lisa! When she is awake she’s usually kicking her legs and swinging her arms so it was kind of a challenge to get photos where her hands and feet weren’t a blur!

      Like

  2. so adorable, and the dress is very cute too 😉 sewing for little girls is so much fun,, I love the button detail too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

