Sewing

Linden Sweatshirts // Selfish Sewing Week

Berry Linden

Hello Sewing Friends!  Are any of you working on any special projects since it’s Selfish Sewing Week?  I did a little advance sewing over the weekend and made up one of my favorite patterns from Indiesew, which I will show you later in the week.  But I’m popping in now with my newest pattern obsession, Grainline Studio’s Linden Sweatshirt.

This is one of those patterns that I was dying to make as soon as it came out, but I was too pregnant so I made myself wait until after the baby came.  Well, the baby is here and I am officially super tired of maternity clothes!  A slouchy sweatshirt seems like the perfect thing to help get me through until all those wonderful clothes I made last year start to fit again.  Also, my sewing time is limited these days so I’m loving anything knit that doesn’t require a muslin or complex fitting adjustments.

Striped Linden

The first Linden I made from this striped french terry from Girl Charlee.  I was really excited when I got it in the mail because I love the stripes and I like the light weight of the fabric.  When I went to cut it out I realized that the stripes are completely off grain.  I didn’t want to cut it off grain because I’d run the risk of the sweatshirt wanting to twist.  But I didn’t really want the stripes to be diagonal.  In the end the slanty stripes won out.

Striped Linden Side

I had just enough fabric (1 yard of extra wide fabric) to cut all the pieces, but the sleeves had to be cut on the single layer.  Guess what I did?!?  Of course I forgot to flip the pattern, so I cut two of the same sleeve.  There was no way to recover from that mistake so I used a solid gray jersey for the sleeves, cuffs, and bands.

Striped Linden Close Up

At first I was disappointed with the contrasting sleeves, but I think the solid accents work better with the slanted stripes on the front and back of the sweatshirt.  Originally I cut a size 12 graded out to a 16 at the hips, but I felt like it was a little too big, so I increased the seam allowances a little and I love how it fits.

Berry Linden 2

Yesterday I had a little bit of time to sew after my husband got home from work so I decided to whip up another Linden.  This one is made from this stretch french terry from Fabric.com.  I really like this fabric– the color is great, it’s a nice light weight, and it was very affordable!

Reverse Sleeve Close up

I have a maternity sweatshirt that I got from Gap that used the wrong side of the french terry for the sleeves and I thought that was a cool touch.  I decided to do that with this fabric to give a little bit of added interest.  I used the same fabric (right side out) for the cuffs and bands.  I retraced my pattern and this version is a size 10 graded to between a 14 and 16 (size 15?).  I was in such a hurry to put it on that I haven’t done any topstitching yet.  I just got some matching thread today so I’ll force myself to take it off and get that last step done.

Berry Linden Side

I’ve struggled recently with finding ready to wear sweatshirts that fit me properly.  If they fit in the hips they’re too big on top, or the necklines were too wide, or they were too short.  It’s so great to be able to make my own and get just the fit I like.  Now I just need to find some heather gray fabric and an off white fabric for two more of these!

~Teri

21 thoughts on “Linden Sweatshirts // Selfish Sewing Week

  1. Can never underestimate how fun it is to have perfectly fitting basic pieces! Love the detail of the reverse knit and your good solution to off-grain stripes.

    Like

  2. Loving selfish sewing week! Both sweatshirts look super comfy, and i love your color choices! Nice save with the sleeve situation.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Elana! I’m glad I had some fabric to sub in for the sleeves. I hope eventually I can make some tiny leggings for my daughter out of the sleeves so it’s not a total waste.

      Like

  3. I love these colors, Teri! The jewel-tone pink is really lovely, and I love the contrast sleeves on both sweatshirts. It’s a shame about the stripes being off grain, but I agree with the other commenters that it’s no big deal and actually adds a bit of interest. Glad to hear you’re getting so much use out of these already!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Carolyn! The pink fabric was described as being fuchsia on fabric.com so I was a little nervous that it was going to be super bright. I love the jewel tone it turned out to be! I have a bit of fabric left over so eventually I may try the other more cropped view of the pattern with it.

      Like

    1. Thank, Helen! I may have just ordered some fabric to make another one of these. If One Week One Pattern happens again this year I think I’ll be ready with my Lindens! So far I’ve only made things that can easily be sewn during nap time. Knits are my friends right now. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

