Sewing

Sew Fab Sale // Vintage Inspired Train Case

Bag with trains

Earlier in the week I showed my first creation from the Sew Fab Pattern Sale Winter Bundle.  It’s a collection of 10 new women’s patterns that are on sale as a bundle (for a really discounted price!) until December 15. 

Winter 2014 Sale Large Collage

My second make is the Vintage Inspired Train Case from Gingercake patterns.  As soon as I saw that the pattern was called a train case I decided to make it for Luke and all of his trains.  He has gotten into Thomas the Train in a big way in the last few months and there are trains all over the floors in our house.  I thought it would be really fun for him to have a bag to use to store his trains or for when he wants to take some with him to Gramma and Grampa’s house.

Train Bag front

After I’d cut and interfaced all of the pieces I did an applique of a train on the front of the main exterior piece.  There is a lot of interfacing involved with this pattern and I was trying to get by with what I had in my stash.  Some of the pieces are supposed to have two layers of interfacing fused to them and I didn’t have enough for that.  I used fusible fleece for those pieces and I think it gives the bag good structure.

Train Bag Back

There were a few moments when I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to sew through all the layers of fabric.  At one point I was sewing through 7 layers of fabric, 5 layers of interfacing, and 2 layers of fusible fleece.  I did what the pattern suggested and used my walking foot.  It worked like a charm!  My machine had no problem with all the layers so I’ll have to remember that tip in the future.  Usually I reserve my walking foot for quilting.

I think the bag is so fun!  There are 4 pockets on the interior and the main bag is nice and roomy.  The instructions were clear and there were lots of photos to help out along the way.  Now I just have to talk Luke into picking up his trains and putting them in his special bag, which is probably easier said than done.  It did make me really happy that he asked me to get his train bag for him so he could load it up with trains before he went to church on Sunday.

Luke with bag

I am excited to try out more of these patterns post-baby.  I have always wanted to try making underwear, so I’m especially excited about the Greenstyle panties pattern!  I’m really glad I got to be a part of this blog tour– check out the Sew Fab pattern bundle here!  The bundle is available until December 15.

~Teri

6 thoughts on “Sew Fab Sale // Vintage Inspired Train Case

  1. What a great idea! I love that Luke is already asking for his train bag. 🙂 This sounds like a really fun project (so many layers, wow!) and doubles as a sneaky way to get the boys to clean up after themselves.

    How did you do the applique? Iron on the pieces and satin stitch over the raw edges?

    Like

Leave a Reply

