Kids Sewing · Sewing

Cowboy Sleepover Pajamas // Kids Clothes Week

Jammies

I made two pairs of my favorite Sleepover Pajamas from Oliver + S for Luke this past week during Kids Clothes Week.  I’ve only managed to get one of them photographed on him.  The photos really aren’t that great because I took them in the evening after bath time and our house really has the worst lighting ever.  It’s a challenge to get a 4 year old boy interested in doing a fashion show and having a photoshoot during the day time when the light is better. 

Jammies 2

I have made these jammies 4 or 5 times before and I love how they look.  I think the accent fabric on the shirt and pants is such a cute detail.  (There’s even an option to do a ruffle around the placket and pant cuffs– it would be so fun to make these for a little girl!)  These are a size 5.  The last pair I made for Luke was a size 4 and they still fit him well, but it won’t be long before they are too short.  I decided to print out the larger size range of the pattern and see how the size 5 worked.  These are fairly baggy and long, which means they’ll last for a good long while.

Jammies 3

I thought this cowboy fabric was really fun and it gave me some good chances to work on pattern matching.  I didn’t get a good photo of it, but both front pockets are matched.  This is the first time I’ve ever thought about matching the patterns on pajamas.  Another first for me was that this time I sewed the buttons on by machine.  I can’t believe I’ve never tried that before!  I assumed that I’d need a special foot to do it.  I came across a video recently where the person used scotch tape to hold the button in place, lowered the feed dogs, used their regular presser foot and a zig zag stitch to secure the button.  This worked perfectly!  I may never hand sew a button again!

Jammies 1

In other news, I sewed something for myself this week!  I decided to try to hack a new pattern to make it maternity and it actually worked!  Once I get my husband to take some pictures I’ll post about it.

~Teri

 

7 thoughts on “Cowboy Sleepover Pajamas // Kids Clothes Week

  1. I love your fabric choice here! Great print and colors! I need to make some pjs for my kids. It’s finally cool enough that they’re not sleeping naked every night. 🙂

    Like

  2. Your boys are too cute! 🙂 These PJs came out so well. I agree that the contrast fabric takes them to the next level. Now I want to make a cute PJ set for myself and prance around my house in them, haha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

