Sewing

Sinbad & Sailor Dove Fitted Tee

002

I am hard at work on my sons’ Halloween costumes and I have made zero progress on the two quilts that I talked about in my last post.  I do have a finished garment to show you, but I don’t have modeled photos since it is a sample I sewed for Indiesew.com.  This was my first Sinbad & Sailor pattern, the Dove Fitted TeeThis is a pretty simple sew.  From the front it looks like a basic woven tee.  It has bust darts and the neckline is finished with a small facing.  The split back detail is what really makes this shirt fun and different.  There is a yoke across the upper back and two separate pieces form the bottom which are left open from the mid back to the hem.

004

I don’t have any notes on how this fits, yet.  As long as my body isn’t too much of a wreck next summer I can see myself making this as a change from my default woven tee, Grainline’s Scout tee.  I think it would be really cute in a flowy, gauzy white fabric. Actually, for me I think I would probably prefer to slash and spread it a bit at the bottom to make it less fitted and more flowy.  If you’d like to see better photos of this top, here is the listing for the pattern on Indiesew and it’s modeled by their lovely bodyform.  It’s much easier to see the pattern details in their photos and not on a hanger taped to my dining room wall!

Next week is Kid’s Clothing Week.  My goal is to finish up the Halloween costumes and try to make both guys a new pair of Oliver + S sleepover pajamas.   Are any of you participating and sewing for kids?

~Teri

One thought on “Sinbad & Sailor Dove Fitted Tee

Leave a Reply

