Sewing

Blank Slate Patterns Juniper Jersey

052

Oh my goodness, this is one of those projects that I almost gave up on halfway through.  I found this pattern through Indiesew and I actually sewed the navy and purple sample that is on the website.  This is a different style t-shirt than what I usually sew.  The yoke is one piece that comes front to back and forms the overlapped v-neckline.  I don’t have any v-neck t-shirts in my handmade wardrobe.  After I finished the sample for Indiesew I decided I wanted to make one for myself.

I ordered some of the striped Riley Blake fabric and set to work as soon as it got to me. The sample I made for Indiesew was a size XS so I couldn’t use it to try for fit.  For myself I cut a medium through the bust and graded out to an XL because at this point I knew I was pregnant and wanted to leave myself as much room as possible. I also added an inch to the length. I sewed everything but the hems and tried it on only to find that I had a lot of extra fabric bunching up in the underarm area.  I posted a picture on Instagram and got some really good feedback about trying a sloping shoulder adjustment.

043

I found a tutorial for a sloping shoulder adjustment but  I was a little baffled about how to make the changes to this pattern since there isn’t a shoulder seam.  Instead of angling the shoulder seam down I ended up angling the bottom of the yoke upwards.  I removed about an inch from the outer yoke edges on both the front and back and then lowered the curve of the armhole by the same amount.  I also narrowed the yoke a bit because it seemed too wide.  I had to unpick everything, serging and all to make the changes to the actual fabric.  And then I had to go to Joann buy more of the interlock that I used for the yoke but was able to salvage the striped fabric.  When I recut I did lose the extra inch of length, but that was better than having to start from scratch.

Juniper Jersey cropped

So all in all, this shirt that I thought would be made in one nap time ended up taking a few weeks to get finished.  I needed to take a little time away from it before I had my husband take these photos and I’m glad I did.  I really like how the shirt fits and I think it will look great with my gray Hudson pants. (I promise it’s not all crazy on my right side.  I think it got stuck to my corduroy pants and just wasn’t laying right for the pictures.)  I don’t know that I’ll get too much wear out of it in my current state– my belly is causing the front to be a little too short and I run the risk of showing off the band on the top of my maternity pants.  I think it will go into heavier rotation next spring.  Sometimes getting garments tailored to fit my specific body can be a huge pain but it’s really a good feeling when I end up with the fit I want.  And now if I make this shirt again I am confident that I will be able to get it done in one nap time!

Mama and Luke

I had to share this last photo with my little photo-bomber Luke.  He wanted to get in the action and I just love how he’s posed.  He’s obviously seen a few too many blog photo shoots because right away he put his hand on his hip and gave that goofy fake smile.

~Teri

Oh

13 thoughts on “Blank Slate Patterns Juniper Jersey

  1. Haha, that last photo is adorable! 🙂 Isn’t it funny how a simple t-shirt can sometimes take forever to sew? I agree with you that it’s worth it to take the extra time to make fitting adjustments, and I’m glad this top worked out in the end. I love the bright colors!

    Like

Leave a Reply

