Sewing

Two New T-shirts // Trifecta Top and Day Tripper Top

Day Tripper 1

This past weekend I busted out the ball point needles and made up two new t-shirts.  I’ve been wanting to make a short sleeved Day Tripper top for a while and I wanted to finally give the Trifecta Top a shot. I love my two long sleeved Day Trippers (here and here) and this short sleeved version is already a new favorite.

Day Tripper 2

As I did with my other versions, I decided not to add the pockets and I reduced the high low hem substantially.  I left the back a little bit longer than the front, but it’s only an inch or so longer.  I used this amazing knit that I got from Imagine Gnats’ shop.  I made the shirt using 1 yard of fabric and some gray jersey that I had in my stash.

Trifecta Top 1

I love Raglan tees and I really liked all of the customization options that come with the Trifecta Top pattern.  I started out making the high scoop neck with elbow length sleeves and bands for all of the hems.  I cut between a size 4 and 5 for the top and graded out to a 5 at the waist/hips.

At first I wasn’t super thrilled with how this shirt came out.  I wish I would have graded out a little bit more in the waist/hips and I don’t really love how there is extra fabric in the under arms.  I think I would like it better if the raglan seams were cut lower.  Usually when I finish the neck, sleeve, and waist bands I use my twin needle to do top stitching.  For this top I did zig zag instead and apparently I was pulling the fabric because I’ve got tons of rippling going on.

Trifecta Top 2

Despite all of that I’ve worn this shirt twice already and it’s grown on me.  The fabric is really nice and soft.  It’s Robert Kaufman Laguna jersey, also from the Imagine Gnats shop.  I just got the Lane Raglan pattern from IndieSew.com so I am going to give that a try and see how that one measures up.

~Teri

3 thoughts on “Two New T-shirts // Trifecta Top and Day Tripper Top

Leave a Reply

