Kids Sewing · Sewing

Juba Shorts for Men and Sunny Day Shorts for the little guys

002

For the first time ever, I sewed something for my husband!  I had the pleasure of pattern testing Rachael from Imagine Gnats new pattern the Juba Shorts.  This pattern just released at the end of last week and is currently on sale for $10.00 (which includes both the men’s and women’s versions!)

I am excited to sew a pair for myself… if I can ever get caught up on the works in progress that are littering my sewing table!

005

It was very fortunate that the pattern testing happened just before Father’s Day so that I had a fun handmade gift to give my husband, along with some pants and shorts from his favorite store, L.L. Bean.  These shorts are really easy to make– definitely beginner friendly.  The men’s version only has 2 pattern pieces.  They have elastic in the back of the waistband and a drawstring to close the front.  I used a shirting fabric that I found at Joann Fabrics.

121

I thought it would be fun to make some matching shorts for my two boys.  I used my new favorite (free!) pattern, the Sunny Day shorts from Oliver + S.  (I think I’ve made 9 pairs of these now!)  I didn’t do any modifications to the pattern this time around.  I wrapped up the shorts and gave them to Luke and Andrew on Father’s Day.  Luke thought it was really exciting that he had his own gift to open on Father’s Day– although I’m pretty sure he opened all of his dad’s presents and both of his grampa’s presents, too.

One of these days I should go get a little more of this fabric and make myself a pair of Juba shorts so we can all be matching!

~Teri

6 thoughts on “Juba Shorts for Men and Sunny Day Shorts for the little guys

  1. Great timing! And a very cute matching pair. Guessing, if you get the right fabric, they could be just as perfect for pjs too… Not sure I’ll be sewing anything for my husband soon, but it’s about time I attempted something for my son.

    Like

  2. Oh gosh, the little matching pairs are so cute, and I bet the boys LOVED matching their daddy, am I right? Joe wears his A’s hat every day, cuz you know, it is just like Daddy’s. Pretty darn cute.

    Like

  3. Love that you made matching shorts for your boys, too! Looks like a great pattern for men… I have yet to sew for my husband. I’ll have to give these shorts a whirl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

