Sewing

Polka Dot Foxglove Tank

Foxglove

I have been anxiously awaiting the release of the Foxglove Tank pattern from Selvage Designs.  I had seen some previews of it on Instagram and thought it looked like a perfect Summer top.  It was available for pre-order last week on IndieSew.com and the pattern was released this past Monday.  I had a very rough night with my younger son on Sunday night and once he was finally settled down I couldn’t fall asleep.  I gave up about 4:30am and went downstairs and started working on my first Foxglove Tank.

Foxglove side

This PDF pattern is one of the best I’ve ever used.  All of the pattern pieces line up perfectly!  There was none of that smooshing and forcing things to line up that I’ve had to do on some PDF patterns.  The instructions for the tank are incredibly thorough.  I chose to make my first version in a knit and I constructed it on my serger and used my sewing machine for the neck and arm bindings.  There are options for flat-felled seams, center front and back seams, french seams, coverstitch details– just about any customization you could ever want.

Foxglove 2

I traced the size 10 graded out to a 12 on the bottom.  My knit is not very stretchy at all so I was treating it like more of a woven (the pattern recommends going up a size if using a woven fabric.)  The top was too wide and I ended up taking it in about an inch on each side from the underarm to the hem.  For my next one I will cut a size 8 graded to a 10, but the bottom is pretty full so a straight size 8 may be fine for me.

Foxglove Back

After I took in the side seams the hi-low hem no longer lined up front to back so I took off an inch from the back.  I like where the back is hitting me now but I think I’d like to front to be about an inch and a half longer.  I will lengthen it for my next one.  There are instructions included for how to lengthen or shorten the front and back pieces and maintain the hem curve.   I ended up raising the neck a little over an inch in the front since I prefer a higher neckline.

Foxglove 1

I wore this all day yesterday and I really love it.  I have some voile in my stash that I am going to use for my next one and I’ve just ordered some black knit for a third.  I think I may experiment with doing a straight hem on the black one and see how that works out.

~Teri

7 thoughts on “Polka Dot Foxglove Tank

  1. I’m loving all the versions of this pattern I’m seeing. Crazy how what seems like a simple design can elevate the basic tank. Looks pulled together and laid back casual instead of comfy and sloppy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

