Kids Sewing · Sewing

Wee Wonderfuls Dolls // Patchwork Penny and Mermaiden

Mermaiden and Penny

Quite a few years ago I discovered Wee Wonderfuls when I bought the book Last Minute Patchwork and Quilted Gifts.  There was a very cute pattern for a stuffed elephant, which I made 3 or 4 times for my friends who were having babies.  I fell in love with the Wee Wonderfuls blog and all of the amazing dolls and embroidery stitchettes that Hillary designed.  I placed an order for some of the embroidery patterns and, through a series of e-mails with Hillary, discovered that she was the older sister of one of my childhood friends and she grew up down the street from me.

Patchwork Penny

When she released her first book I bought it right away.  It is so pretty and filled with some really incredible doll patterns.  I’m sure if I had any daughters I would have made almost everything in the book by now!  As it is I’ve made a few and these were made for my best friend’s daughter on her 1st birthday.

Mermaiden

Mermaiden is a sweet little doll that reminds me of those plastic mermaids I had for the bathtub when I was a kid.  Patchwork Penny is really fun to sew and has an amazing braided hairstyle that is quite simple to make.  I am planning to make another doll from the book really soon and I’m looking forward to trying another of these great patterns!

~Teri

5 thoughts on “Wee Wonderfuls Dolls // Patchwork Penny and Mermaiden

    1. Carolyn, your dolls are amazing! I can’t believe you hand stitched the bear. I have made the tag along doll twice– it’s one of my faves. I think I need to make a teddy bear for my younger son, he would really love it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

