Sewing

Sugar Pop Top

Sugar Pop 5

I am really drawn to fun colors and prints when I buy fabric.  But before I started sewing so many of my own clothes one of the things I always bought was white shirts.  When I was trying to figure out what fabric to use for my first Sew Caroline Sugar Pop Top, I decided that it was high time I made myself a white shirt.  This fabric was in my stash from ages ago.  I’m sure it came from Joann Fabrics and I think it had intended to use it for a valance in our kitchen.  It’s actually not plain white– there are tiny white pin dots all over it.

I bought this pattern right away when Caroline released it.  It got put in the pile of things to make and I only just got to it.  I had a bit of trouble figuring out what size to make.  As usual my measurements put me all over the place.  I made a quick muslin and the top ended up being too roomy so I sized it down.  I think I probably ended up with a medium on top graded to a large on the bottom.  I also had trouble with the darts.  They didn’t seem to be hitting me where I thought they should.  The seemed a little low and the shape of the dart was different than what I’m used to.  When I sewed the dart legs the side seam wasn’t a nice straight line.  The fabric on the top of the dart was wider than the fabric on the bottom of the dart.  I ended up leaving the darts as they are on the pattern since my attempts to redesign them weren’t working well.  My side seam starts with a little zig zag, but it’s under my arm and (other than you lovely readers) I won’t point it out to anyone.

Sugar Pop

I did my first rounded shoulder adjustment on this top.  I checked out a book from my library about fitting patterns because I often have pooling fabric in my lower back area.  I wasn’t convinced that a swayback adjustment was the right thing for me.  The book says that the shoulder seam should line up with the top of your shoulder (seems obvious, right?!) but a lot of my hand made clothes have this seam hitting behind the top of my shoulder.  It’s not news to me that I have horrible posture and hunched shoulders.  The fix for this is to lengthen the back pattern piece shoulder seams (I did a 1/2 adjustment so I made the shoulders 1/2 longer) and remove the same amount from the front pattern piece.  This moves the shoulder seam forward.  (Here is a tutorial with pictures.  She is only moving the outer part of the shoulder seam and I moved the entire shoulder seam.) It worked like a charm for me.

Sugar Pop 3

After wearing this shirt a few times I realize I should have also adjusted the curve of the front armscye to account for my rounded shoulders.  I am getting some fabric folding up right in front of my shoulders.  If I cut some of that out with a bigger armscye in the front I think it would go away.  The question is do I fix this shirt or just make the change on the next one?  Maybe it’s something I will do in the winter when the shirt isn’t getting worn as much.

Sugar Pop 2

So this is a very long post all to say that I really like this shirt.  Once I got my fit issues resolved it was a very quick sew.  I love a good Peter Pan collar and the cap sleeves are a fun detail.  (There is also an option for a flutter sleeve.)  I like the subtle hi-low hem and the loose, comfy shape.  It’s another great, casual summer shirt!

~Teri

4 thoughts on “Sugar Pop Top

  1. Thank you for sharing your experience. Until I read this I was tearing my hair out because of the darts. I’m a beginner so I assumed it was me! I’ll keep fiddling

    Like

    1. I’m glad I could reassure you, Lisa! I haven’t gone back and made another of these tops but if I do I will make some tweaks to the pattern to straighten out the side seam. I hope you get yours figured out!

      Like

  2. I’m so glad you posted about this Teri! And I know I’m a few years late commenting here…but I’m working on a Sugar Pop Top right now…and this was really helpful to read through! I’m having similar issues with my muslin and I’ve already moved my dart and cut the front armscye lower. That’s helped a ton. Now I’m going to work on the sleeve…and then I’ll cut into my cute fabric 🙂
    I like that’s it’s a fun, quick sew. But I think the pattern should have been cut a little differently. The armholes are just too tight 🙂 Okay, back to the sewing room!

    Like

    1. Hi Dana! I’m glad my review helped you! I’ve never made another of these but I did end up going back and scooping out the front armholes to help with the fit. I’ll be excited to see how yours turns out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

