Sewing

Sewaholic Belcarra Blouse

Belcarra 1

Did anyone take part in the Belcarra Blouse sewalong that has been going on over at the Sewaholic blog the last few weeks?  I was thrilled that Tasia released this latest pattern as a PDF.  I don’t necessarily always love the process of assembling a PDF pattern, but I do love the instant gratification of ordering a pattern and having it printed in minutes.  (Plus there is usually a cost savings, which I like, too!)

Belcarra 4

I really wanted to make a white cotton lawn version of this top but I didn’t have any in my stash.  I know from all of my varied experience of making tops that are too big that I should make a muslin first so I decided to use scraps of this pink lawn that I had leftover from making a maxi Washi dress.  I had high hopes that this would fit right out of the gate since Sewaholic patterns are designed for the pear-shaped figure and I am certainly a pear shape.

I am very happy with the results!  This is a raglan style blouse made from woven fabrics.  It has shaping at the waist and then curves out at the hip.  It was designed to go with the lovely Gabriola skirt and is the perfect shape to be worn tucked in.  I never tuck anything in, though!  I made a size 10 graded out to a 12 at the hips.  I ended up taking out a bit of the shaping at the hip since it seemed like it might stick out somewhat when worn untucked.  I think on my next one I will put a little of the curve back in and see how I like it.  The only other change I made was to raise the neckline about half an inch all around.  I like necklines that fit closer and my younger son constantly uses the front neckline of my shirts as a handle.  The higher the neck the better when he is around!

Belcarra 5

I will definitely be making more of these.  It’s another great style that can be worn every day but makes me feel like I put in just a tiny bit more effort when getting dressed.  Now I just need to get my hands on some white lawn!

~Teri

10 thoughts on “Sewaholic Belcarra Blouse

  1. Ooooh, so pretty! I really want this pattern too! (Although I’m not a pear shape, so that worries me a bit – I have a large bust). But like Fiona said, I have patterns up to my eyeballs and so many more I want to try! So I try to hold off until everyone else makes it and I can see how it would look on my body type. I’m a late adopter/laggard. Let other people debug new products! Hehe. 🙂

    Like

    1. Ooh, I missed that! (I don’t usually read sew-along posts.) Thanks for letting me know! The shape is one that is generally very flattering on me (also everyone else, that’s why it’s so great!).

      Like

  2. I’ve bought the pattern, printed it and…need to stick it together and raid the stash. Yours turned out very nice and thanks for the fit notes on your changes.

    Like

    1. I didn’t mention this (or get a picture of it) but my shirt has a seam down the center back because my fabric scraps weren’t quite big enough to get that piece on the fold. It really was a good stash buster for me! I hope yours turns out well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

