Sewing

Me Made May ’14 Day 19-25 // Lotus Pond Washi Dress

We are getting to the home stretch of Me Made May.  I decided this week that I need to focus on making some shorts since my only shorts are ready to wear.  I have the patterns for Colette Iris shorts, Grainline Studio Maritime shorts, and Sewaholic Thurlow trousers/shorts.  I hope to get a successful pair of at least one of these patterns made this week.

Day 19– Washi tunic (unblogged) made from Anna Maria Horner rayon challis, ready to wear jeans.

Day 20– Josephine/Washi XP hack, ready to wear shorts

Day 21– Washi Dress

Day 22– Anchor plantain hack, ready to wear jeans

Day 23– Colette Sorbetto Top (unblogged), ready to wear jeans

Day 24–  Josephine Tank, ready to wear jeans.

Day 25– Out and About Dress

Washi

The Washi Dress from Made By Rae is my favorite thing to sew. It is such a fun dress to make and to wear. This is the first Washi Dress that I made about a year ago. It’s made from an Amy Butler fabric that I had in my stash, called Lotus Pond. This dress is a size medium graded out to a large in the skirt.

I love the shirring in the back bodice. It is really flattering and comfortable.  On this dress the neckline is finished with a facing and the arms are finished with bias tape.  I used a coordinating polka dot print for the facing, bias tape, and pockets, which is a fun detail on the inside of the dress.

Since I made this first Washi, I’ve made 3 more Washi dresses for myself, 2 for friends, and 2 Washi tunics.  I have gotten so much mileage from this pattern and I was so excited when Rae released the Washi expansion pack with various add ons.  There are so many possibilities for customization with this dress.  I definitely recommend this pattern!

~Teri

Leave a Reply

