Sewing

See Kate Sew Olive Dress

Olive 3

I had the pleasure of getting to pattern test one of See Kate Sew’s new Summer patterns, the Olive Dress.  Olive is a sweet, pull-on dress with an elastic waist and a Peter Pan collar. Kate is releasing her new line of patterns today.  The line is called Garden Party and each pattern is so pretty with great feminine details.

Image

I tested the size large.  My bust measurement was in the size medium range but my waist/hips fell into the size large.  I decided to make a medium through the bust and grade out to a large at the waist and make the size large for the skirt. Since this is a loose fitting dress I recommend basing your sizing off of your bust measurement.  My dress ended up being too big at the waist, so I unpicked and took it in to a size medium and graded the skirt out to a large.

Image

The fabric I used for this is a quilting cotton from Joann fabrics.  It wasn’t the absolute best for this dress– I wish I would have used something more drapey to give the bodice a better look.  I love the style of this dress; it’s comfortable and easy to wear.  I think Peter Pan collars are so fun and I really like the contrasting navy that I used for my collar. I am looking forward to making this dress again and trying out some of the other tops and dresses that are in Kate’s new line.

~Teri

2 thoughts on “See Kate Sew Olive Dress

Leave a Reply

