Sewing

Me Made May ’14 Day 12-18 // Pointelle Day Tripper Top

We are over halfway through May!  The weather turned sour mid-week and on Friday we had SNOW!  One thing I’ve learned for next year is that I need some me-made sweatshirts or cardigans.  It’s just not consistently warm enough here to get to wear all my summer clothes and that is what the bulk of my handmade wardrobe consists of right now.

Day 12– Self-drafted (I use that term loosely– it’s just pleats and elastic) skirt using fabric from Sarah Jane’s Out to Sea line (unblogged), ready to wear tee.

Day 13– Out and About dress

Day 14– Hemlock Tee, ready to wear jeans

Day 15– Feather raglan tee rubbed off from Gap sweatshirt (unblogged), ready to wear jeans

Day 16– Plantain tee (unblogged), ready to wear yoga pants — This is the day we had snow!  I almost didn’t get out of my (handmade) pajama pants.

Day 17– Day Tripper top, ready to wear jeans. Changed into Malvarosa Dress (coming to the blog this week!) for my anniversary dinner date with my husband.

Day 18– Briar Rose Briar Tee, ready to wear jeans and sweater

003

I made this new Day Tripper Top on Friday.  This fabric is a pointelle sweater knit that I got on a trip to Vogue Fabrics.  It was my first time there and not a place to go with 2 small boys and a stroller in tow.  I only managed to find this knit and some denim.  I am hoping to go back sometime without kids and see if I can find any other good knits.

010

For this top I cut the medium length as I did on my first Day Tripper, but this time I pretty much reduced the high low hem to nothing.  The back is maybe an inch longer than the front and I like it a lot this way.  I love the comfortable, slouchy fit of this top.  The lightweight knit is perfect for this time of year.

I’ll be back later today with another new make!

~Teri

3 thoughts on “Me Made May ’14 Day 12-18 // Pointelle Day Tripper Top

    1. Thanks! Our weather seems to be doing better this week– I hope to not see snow again for a long time. I love your linen Ginger skirt you posted. It looks great!

      Like

Leave a Reply

