Sewing

T-Shirt Week // Anchor Day Tripper for Spring Top Sewalong

Image

It’s Day 4 of T-shirt Week here on Fa Sew La!  I’m back with a top I made this past weekend for the Spring Top Sewalong.  It’s the Day Tripper Top by ShwinDesigns.  It’s a fun, loose dolman sleeve top that comes in three lengths.  It also has options for short or long sleeves.  I bought this pattern as a 4 pack of knit patterns that were part of the Just Add Jeans Collection from Pattern Anthology.  (They are no longer available as a set but can be purchased individually from the pattern designers’ shops.)  This anchor fabric was initially slated to become my first Lady Skater dress, but I had a change of heart and wanted to make something I could actually wear while the weather is still cool.  (Plus, I pre-ordered this awesome knit from April Rhodes and I think it may become my first Lady Skater!)

I sewed a size Medium and graded out to a Large at the hips.  I picked the medium length and decided to skip the pockets.  When I had it sewn up I felt like it was too long in the sleeves and the back length.  I shortened the sleeves by an inch– I took it out of the cuff and the actual sleeve.  The top has a bit of a high-low hem and the length of the back band wasn’t hitting my bum in a good spot.  I took up the back about an inch and then shortened the whole thing by close to another inch.  Next time I’ll just take up the back and blend the curve.  I wish the front still had that extra inch of length.

This knit from Girl Charlee is so soft!  (Looks like the navy is sold out, but this is very similar.)  After I finished the top I wasn’t super sure it was a great style for me– my husband and I both sort of thought it looked like pajamas.  (Probably because I was wearing it around with my pajama pants.)  Once I put it on with jeans and wore it for a day I decided I really love it and can’t wait to make a short sleeved version.

~Teri

4 thoughts on “T-Shirt Week // Anchor Day Tripper for Spring Top Sewalong

  1. Pingback: Your spring tops!

Leave a Reply

