Sewing

T-shirt Week // Briar Rose Calico Penelope Peplum

I’m back with another t-shirt made from Heather Ross’ Briar Rose jersey.  This time it’s the Calico knit in blue.  I really love this line of knits– they are very soft and really nice quality.  This pattern is the Penelope Peplum from See Kate Sew.  This is the first pattern I made when I decided I wanted to experiment sewing with knits.  I couldn’t believe how easy it really was!  I made a wearable muslin out of some green cotton jersey from Joann fabrics before I moved on to this fabric.

Image

On my final version I made a few changes.  The pattern calls for a neck facing and for hemmed sleeves.  I didn’t really like the feel of having a facing on a knit top so I ended up doing a neck band and sleeve bands.  I think banded sleeves and hems are so easy that I use them whenever I can.

Penelope Peplum 2

This top is really comfortable and I am a big fan of peplums.  Kate also has an add on pattern that includes pieces to make a gathered skirt and a circle peplum/skirt.  I love the look of the circle skirt with this top so eventually I’d like to get the add on pack, too.

Penelope Peplum 3

Penelope Peplum 4

Also, if you haven’t braved sewing with knits I’d really recommend reading the Kniterviews over at Made By Rae.  I learned a lot of great information reading this series!

~Teri

Leave a Reply

