Sewing

T-shirt Week // Briar Rose Briar Tee and Raglan

Image

I decided to make this week t-shirt week on my blog.  With Me Made May coming up these t-shirts will be getting a lot of wear!  I feel like I should state right off the bat that I didn’t spend all weekend making t-shirts.  Most of these (and quite a few of the things that I’ve been showing on the blog) have been made over the course of the last few months while we were stuck inside during a very harsh winter.  I do generally try to make at least one thing a week but I am not making things with the frequency that I am blogging them.

Image

I just started sewing with knits in the last 5 months and I am hooked.  I wear knits constantly so it’s great to have some me made t-shirts to throw on with jeans.  I had seen Megan Nielsen’s Briar tee around on various blogs and I really liked it.  When I saw this version, I knew I wanted to make my own.  I love Heather Ross’ Briar Rose jersey— I made an Out and About Dress in the violet colorway.  I think the orange strawberries are super fun.

Image

I made this in a large, but every time I put it on I felt like it was too big.  Finally over the weekend I took it in (probably down to a size medium) and I am much happier with it.  I seem to have a pattern of making clothes too big and realizing after they are complete that they need adjusting.  Maybe one day I will figure out what size I am!   I also raised the neckline about an inch and shortened the back by about 2 inches so the high-low hem isn’t as dramatic.

Image

I had some leftover fabric and decided to make a raglan tee out of it, along with some green jersey from Joann Fabrics.  I made the pattern by doing a rub-off of a Gap sweatshirt that fits me well.  The sweatshirt is boxy through the mid-section so I used the Briar tee pattern as a guide to do some shaping in the waist.  I am really happy with how this turned out.

Image

Check back tomorrow for another t-shirt!

~Teri

6 thoughts on “T-shirt Week // Briar Rose Briar Tee and Raglan

  1. Diouxde. You should maybe do a tutorial on how to do a rub-off because I have no idea what that is and it sounds interesting.

    Like

    1. Diouxde! I am just composing my post for tomorrow and I will put something in there about the rub off. I really want to try to do it with jeans sometime when I’m feeling really daring.

      Like

Leave a Reply

