Sewing

Spring Top Sewalong // Josephine Washi XP Top

Image

This year I am excited to take part in the Spring Top Sewalong!  I have admired the tops that were created in previous years but I haven’t participated before.  I have a few tops that I want to make but I was inspired by this photo of Cori Robinson (the designer of these beautiful clothes) that she posted recently on Instagram.  I had some black and white polka dotted fabric in my stash and I’ve been trying to figure out what to make with it.  Initially I wanted to make a Colette Laurel dress, but I didn’t have enough fabric.  When I saw Cori’s photo I settled on trying to make some sort of version of her top.  I could tell there was some cute detail around the neck but that’s about all I had to go on.

Polka Dot Josephine 2

I decided to go with the Josephine pattern since I love my first so much.  I was going to make the sleeveless version, but as I had enough fabric I decided to try out short sleeves.  I knew I wanted a tie at the neck so I grabbed my Washi expansion pack and used the small ties from that pattern.  I attached them in the same method that Rae did on this Washi top (using the directions from the Washi expansion pack.)  I drafted my own facing pieces since Josephine has a different neckline than the Washi top.

Polka Dot Josephine 4

I cut the same size in this top as I did in my yellow voile version, a medium graded out to a large in the hips.  I didn’t use the elastic casing on the back of this one and without the cinching it ended up being too boxy.  I took in the side seams back to a straight size medium and it’s perfect.  I also used french seams throughout. (Even on the sleeves!)  The inside looks so nice and clean I could almost wear it inside out!  French seams totally save the day when I am too lazy to change the thread color on my serger.
Polka Dot Josephine 5

The modifications I made to the pattern were really easy and I absolutely love the result.  The fabric had been in my stash forever.  It’s quilting cotton so I was a little unsure how it would do– especially since this is not one of those nice light quilting cottons with a bit of drape.  This stuff is pretty stiff.  I think it turned out great, though.  (Of course if I find a polka dotted voile or rayon challis I’d love to give it a try with that, too!)

~Teri

9 thoughts on “Spring Top Sewalong // Josephine Washi XP Top

  1. My favorite so far Teri. Can’t go wrong with polk-a-dots and a bow at the neck 🙂 Would look great with red skinny jeans!

    Like

  2. I never would have guessed that was quilting cotton! It looks great and totally comfy. Beautiful! Thanks for linking it up at skirtfixation!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jordan! I really love this top. The only drawback to the quilting cotton is that the sleeves are a little too poofy to layer under a cardigan. I just make sure to wear it on warm days !

      Like

Leave a Reply

