Sewing

Out and About Dresses

Gray Dress

One of my favorite sewing blogs is Sew Caroline.  In the past year couple of years she has made an amazing amount of beautiful garments, a few of which I have shamelessly copied used as inspiration for my own creations.  Recently she released her first pattern, The Out and About Dress, after previewing it on her blog for a few months.  It’s a knit dress that can be made knee length or maxi length with elbow length or long sleeves.  I just started dabbling in sewing with knits at the end of last year so I was excited to give this pattern a try.

Strawberry 2

The first version I made from this solid gray knit from Girl Charlee.  The pattern is really easy and Caroline gives lots of great tips for sewing with knits.  I made the mistake of using the stretch stitch on my machine to sew the gathered skirt to the bodice.  I had a few places where I wasn’t happy with how the gathers were spaced so I had to do some unpicking.  I found out very quickly that the stretch stitch is a bear to unpick, especially when the thread I used was the same color as the fabric.  The stitches just blend right in and are really hard to find. For my second dress I used a zig zag stitch throughout, which worked out much better.

Strawberry 1

I have gotten a lot of wear out of my gray dress.  It is so comfortable and easy to wear on it’s own or layered with leggings and a cardigan. Caroline inspired me with her version made from this fun Strawberry print from the Briar Rose jersey collection by Heather Ross.  I had this fabric in my stash and I loved her dress so much that I knew I needed one, too.  This fabric is so soft and easy to work with.   I am really excited to wear my Strawberry version this Spring and eventually I want to make a maxi version, too.  (I love this one!)  If you’re looking for a great knit dress pattern, I’d recommend this one!

~Teri

2 thoughts on “Out and About Dresses

Leave a Reply

