Sewing

Anchors Away Staple Dress

Anchor Staple 1

The Staple Dress by April Rhodes has been incredibly popular across sewing blogs, and rightfully so.  I may be one of the last sewing bloggers to post about this dress, but hey, I just started my blog so I couldn’t do it any earlier!

Anchor Staple 3

This dress is really easy to sew because it’s just 2 main pieces (4 if you count the pockets) and some bias binding.  The shirring could be a little bit daunting if you’ve never done it before, but I bet an elastic casing at the waist would work just as well.  I’ve even seen a few versions where people have left out the shirring and just belted the dress instead.

Anchor Staple 2

I used this great navy Anchors Away fabric from Sarah Jane’s Out to Sea line.  I’ve used fabric from this line for many projects, including 5 garments for myself (the first one was blogged here.)  I love the nautical theme and I couldn’t wait to find the perfect thing for this fabric.  I wasn’t sure about using quilting cotton for this style because it doesn’t have a lot of drape.  I decided to go for it, though.   I may go back and take in the side seams in the bodice so it’s a little more fitted.  Until then I’ll just layer it up with a cardigan or jean jacket.  I love how cute and comfortable this dress is and totally recommend it!

~Teri

One thought on “Anchors Away Staple Dress

Leave a Reply

