Kids Sewing · Sewing

Old Pants Made New– Oliver + S Field Trip Cargos

LJ cargos2

I love when I can take an item of clothing that isn’t being worn and make it into something new.  In this case I took an old pair of khakis that had never fit me well and made them into Oliver + S Field Trip Cargo Pants for my older son, Luke.  He wears these all the time, which makes me so happy.  I am really proud of how they turned out.

LJ cargos 1

LJ cargos back

This is a really fun sew because there are so many great details.  The front and back legs are pieced together and topstitched.  There is a dart at the knee that gives extra room for all of the bending/squatting/crawling/jumping/climbing that kids do.  I wasn’t able to add the cargo pocket to this pair since I had limited fabric that I could use from the old pants.  Next time I’m definitely adding the pocket.

Front View

Back View

A great thing about using old pants is that I was able to unpick the belt loops and use them as is on the new pants.  I also took the button off of the old pair and used that, too.

Front Detail

Back pockets

These are a great pair of pants that have been well loved.  They took a fair amount of time to make because of all of the details that make them special and I’m glad they’re holding up so well.  It won’t be long before Luke is too tall for them and they’ll get handed down for little brother to wear.  I can’t wait to see what kind of dance moves he does in them!

~Teri

3 thoughts on “Old Pants Made New– Oliver + S Field Trip Cargos

  1. I love these! I am discovering your blog (after clicking through on your o+s Flickr shots), and you sew beautifully! (And prolifically!) This pattern is so great – my guy Joe is going through a shorts-only phase, but I’m wondering if he’d wear these hemmed at the bottom knee panel for a Euro-biker look. 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m so glad you found my blog! I think these would be great hemmed at the knee. I need to start sewing some shorts for my guys since our weather is finally warming up. Have you seen the Kids shorts pattern from Made by Dana? I made a few pairs last year and it’s a great, quick pattern.

      Like

Leave a Reply

