Sewing

Josephine Top

Josephine 1

This is the lovely Josephine top from Made By Rae.  Rae started previewing this top in the fall and once I saw this version I knew I wanted to make something similar.  I am a huge fan of Rae’s Washi dress so I had really high hopes for this pattern.  Of course it did not disappoint!  I love the pleats on the front and the bracelet length, gathered sleeves. It’s feminine and very comfortable.

Josephine 2

I chose an Amy Butler Voile from her Alchemy line, called Sketchbook Roses in Butter.  I ordered it from Hawthorne Threads, but it appears to be sold out.  I found it on sale and ordered enough for this top and another project that I’ll show later.  The fabric is really soft and dreamy.  I love the colors, especially the big pink roses.

Josephine 1.5

Josephine 4

I know Rae puts a lot of time and effort into getting her patterns just right.  Her instructions are very detailed with lots of illustrations.  The construction of the pleats was very simple.  I did french seams down the sides since my fabric was a little sheer.  One day I will be brave enough to try doing french seams on the sleeves.  Jen from Grainline Studios has a great post about it called French All Your Seams. I think the casing on the back of the top is a nice touch to give it a little more shape.

Josephine 3

I highly recommend you try this pattern!  It’s a great one!  I am looking forward to making the tunic and the sleeveless version soon.

~Teri

2 thoughts on “Josephine Top

  1. I cannot sew a stitch and I can’t say that I care very little about clothes, but I love seeing all the stuff that you are sewing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

