Sewing

Corduroy Everyday Skirt

There are a few patterns that I have instantly fallen in love with and I make them over and over.  One of those is the Everyday Skirt from Liesl + Co.  If you’ve ever sewn an Oliver + S pattern you know that Liesl Gibson is an amazing designer.  Her patterns are unique and the instructions are so detailed.  She always adds little tips and tricks to make the finished product look really professional.  When she released the first group of women’s patterns under the Liesl + Co brand last fall I knew I had to try the Everyday Skirt pattern.  I had 2 skirts that I had recently started that I was sort of making up as I went along and they were not turning out well.  I decided to dismantle one of them and used the fabric for this pattern.  As soon as I finished that skirt I knew this would be my go-to skirt pattern.  I have since made 3 others and I’m excited to share this one.

corduroy everyday skirt

This skirt has a great design.  The front is gathered, and the back is elasticized.  There are side panels that are flat so it doesn’t add bulk to the hips– thank goodness for that!  It pulls on easily but I think the flat front waist makes it look more polished.  It’s great for that half tucked look that all the cool kids are doing… and I’m trying but I’m not sure how successfully.  🙂  Also, pockets!!

side view everyday skirt

This is the 3rd version that I made.  This fabric had been in my stash forever.  It’s a black corduroy with appliqued leaves and embroidered flowers.  I made a size L because this pattern is made to be worn a little bit low on the waist.  I think I could go down a size if I wanted it to sit on my natural waist, but I prefer my skirts to sit lower.

full length everyday skirt

I definitely want to make a chambray version of this skirt and I think that an eyelet fabric would be fantastic, too.  Six of the same skirt isn’t too many, is it?

~Teri

One thought on “Corduroy Everyday Skirt

  1. Nope. I don’t think you can have too many of these skirts. Not possible. I have only made one thus far, but I am already looking for fabric for a more summery version! Such a cute and comfortable style! (Yet I appreciate that it can be work appropriate for my biz caj job.) I’m wearing mine right now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

