Sewing

Out to Sea Wiksten Tova

Tova 1.1

One of the first indie patterns I made was the Wiksten Tova.  This is one of my favorite shirts– it’s super easy to wear and I feel a little more put together if I wear my Tova with jeans instead of my usual long sleeve t-shirt and jeans.  I made the shirt out of Sarah Jane’s Sea Flowers fabric from the Out to Sea line.  This line was printed on Michael Miller’s cotton couture fabric so it’s really soft and has a bit better drape than regular quilting cotton does.

Tova 2.1

I made a size medium and graded out to a large in the hips.  On my next one I will grade out a little bit more on the back piece.  I could use a tiny bit more ease around my hips.  I also have a little bit of pulling at the lower part of the armscye when I raise my arms.  I think I will try filling in the curve a little next time to see if that helps the problem.

Placket and buttons

The front placket was a little floppy initially.  I added 3 buttons and I love the result!

Tova 3.1

Thanks for reading!

~Teri

 

 

2 thoughts on “Out to Sea Wiksten Tova

  1. I love this…I have the pattern but haven’t sewn it yet…may make up one in a cotton lawn for spring. would look good with pants and shorts I think

    Like

Leave a Reply

